Spiced Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Oooh, this is just divine! My teenage son nagged me constantly to make this, so I devised a short cut: Mix all the dry ingredients together. To make one cup, use a very slightly rounded tablespoonful of the dry mix and add a little boiling water, stirring to make a thin paste. Then add the hot milk, a drop of vanilla, top with marshmallows and enjoy! I also add a pinch of salt to bring out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This hot chocolate is amazing! At first i was skeptical, because chili powder isnt something you normally pair with chocolate, but it gives it a strangely attractive flavor. I substituted 2c milk with vanilla "Silk" (soymilk) and it still turned out delicious. be sure to stir very well before drinking, and keep a spoon handy while drinking, because everything settles. otherwise, this is one of the very best mugs of chocolate i've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Messmaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
If it is a bit too rich, you can cut it down with a small amount of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This was our Saturday morning early breakfast treat. I made the recipe exact, warmed it through while wisking, then taste-testing. I didn't think it had enough cocoa powder so I added another three tablespoons. After that, it was just right. My kids especially enjoyed it--the grownups used their cocoa to make fancy mocha coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Too much spice, not enough chocolate. I only put a pinch of cloves, everything else stayed the same. It was really gritty (filtering is a must) I guess it would be good with some tweaking but the spices are just too much as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I looked repeately at the recipe to see what I did wrong. The only change I made was 1% milk instead of skim. It came out like lightly chocolate flavored water. In an attempt to salvage - I doubled the cocoa powder and sugar and it was slightly better. Then I added a couple sprinkles salt, again a little better but not worthwhile. Then I added about 1/4 heavy cream. An improvement but not good. Then ended up adding 4 squares of Lindt Dark Chili chocolate bar. With the changes, I would give it a 2 or 3. Definitely won't make this again. I recommend trying a smaller version before you go with the whole recipe. The grainy texture from the spices was not pleasant either. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
It has an awful aftertaste, like I just ate a spoonful of powdered spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Wonderful blend of flavors! I've been watching my carbs and sugars, so I made a couple of alterations: I used unsweetened almond milk and used Truvia instead of sugar. I'll be making this by the cup, so followed the suggestion to mix the dry ingredients (except sugar). I then put a rounded 1/2 T of the mix in a mug with a bit of vanilla and then enough boiling water to make a paste. I then added my almond milk slowly to blend and put the mug in the microwave for about 1 1/2 min. I added one packet of Truvia, but may be able to use less next time. It's not quite as rich as I'd like it to be, but wonderful when you're missing hot chocolate this time of year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I really liked this hot chocolate, but the spices were a little too strong for me. I would suggest less cloves and more sugar, cinnamon, and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Bake
Photo by TK Bunnies
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Very good. It's been crazy cold lately and my mom keeps asking me to make her this hot coco. :) The best part about this recipe is the chili powder, it keeps you feeling warm even after you finish the drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TK Bunnies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States