Spiced Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Too much spice, not enough chocolate. I only put a pinch of cloves, everything else stayed the same. It was really gritty (filtering is a must) I guess it would be good with some tweaking but the spices are just too much as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
A pretty yummy hot chocolate. I gave it only 4 stars because I think the amount of cloves is too much and it didn't have a very rich chocolate taste. But, to each his (or her!) own! I would at least halve the cloves. Still a very enjoyable drink, Leoele. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ewing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Wonderful recipe! I love rich hot chocolate, and this is both rich and flavourful. I made a container of the dry ingredients, as some people suggested, and use 1.5 TBSP of the mix to make a large mug of hot chocolate (dissolving it first in hot water, then adding warm milk to taste), adding a splash of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is delicious! I added 2x the sugar because I know my family has serious sweet tooth, but otherwise it is totally perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paris Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Good flavor with a warmth that stays with you. My cups are closer to 15oz so I had to double the cocoa, sugar and vanilla. I also left out the cloves. No one in my family likes them. A trick I do to get rid of the particles that don't dissolve is to pour it through an angled metal coffee filter. This makes for a much nicer presentation if you are serving company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Wonderful blend of flavors! I've been watching my carbs and sugars, so I made a couple of alterations: I used unsweetened almond milk and used Truvia instead of sugar. I'll be making this by the cup, so followed the suggestion to mix the dry ingredients (except sugar). I then put a rounded 1/2 T of the mix in a mug with a bit of vanilla and then enough boiling water to make a paste. I then added my almond milk slowly to blend and put the mug in the microwave for about 1 1/2 min. I added one packet of Truvia, but may be able to use less next time. It's not quite as rich as I'd like it to be, but wonderful when you're missing hot chocolate this time of year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Sooo good! I was a bit skeptical about the chili powder, but this recipe is definitely a keeper. My sister and I added two extra tablespoons of sugar, and that seemed to help balance out the flavor a little better. We thought this would be perfect with some gingersnaps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3girls2parents1chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I really liked this hot chocolate, but the spices were a little too strong for me. I would suggest less cloves and more sugar, cinnamon, and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Bake
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I liked this, DD did not. I used soy instead of cow's milk, and agave syrup instead of sugar. I enjoyed the spiciness of this, but DD thought it wasn't sweet enough! I will be making this treat for myself next time! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I've recently had to switch over from coffee to other hot drinks due to the need to limit caffeine intake. This is my favorite hot chocolate recipe I've tried so far! I did water it down a little bit, just because I'm not used to drinking a lot of milk, but the spice blend was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States