Spiced Holiday Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Tried this recipe today came out great but I love cinnamon so I added a little bit more :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Mad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
i made these with my daughter and they turned out totally cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I baked these with no problems. They were a huge hit at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Cooled them for 2 hr still were way too sticky so i cooled them over night and nothing changed way to stick to roll out add more flour did nothing. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
The cookies TASTES great -- however, as a dough to use for cookie cutters, it's a loser. I didn't have problems working the dough after 2.5 hours -- you want a dough that's very stiff when you first start working it, because it softens quickly as you gather and reshape it (just start cutting in the middle the first rollout, no problem) -- but this dough spreads and completely loses its shape as it cooks, so nothing looks like what it is supposed to look like. The cookie gets too crisp and breaks if it's dropped on a counter -- make sure not to roll it out thin or let it get too brown, but it's still too breakable. This might be fine as a sliced cookie roll, maybe even add some mini chocolate chips or M&Ms. However, I'm dreading the decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I loved the recipe and tweaked the sugar by using 1/2 cup sugar and 1/4 c. of molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This was my best cookies made yet my family told me. I loved them too, and I also made the icing for it. I think you could make just gingerbread men shapes and people would think that they are gingerbread cookies. Overal, this was my most favorite cookie recipe on this website. Also, I did change the nutmeg to allspice instead. It still tasted very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This cookie was simply a sugar cookie with a hint of spice. I was hoping for something with a little more kick to it. As a dough for cookie cutters, it did not work for me. I had high hopes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I usually don't try recipes that don't have good ratings from a number of users. but i saw this recipe, got excited for Christmas cookies and didn't notice the few reviews. Won't make that mistake again! These cookies spread out when baked and just turned into cookie chips, not to mention they lost all discernible form. boring, blah, threw them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This is the only sugar cookie recipe I ever use. My daughter begs me every year for gingerbread cookies, but I hate gingerbread. This is my compromise. You still get a yummy, spicy cookie without such a strong, harsh flavor. The only changes I make are to up to cinnamon to 1 1/2 tsp, because I really love cinnamon, and to only bake for 7 minutes. Any longer than that, and the dough spreads too much and the cookies become misshapen, and 7 minutes (in my oven, anyway) is plenty long enough to bake them. We just made a batch, tonight. We can't wait to decorate them, tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States