Spiced Farmhouse Fairy Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
There is far too much flour in this recipe to be considered a true British "fairy cake" recipe. It comes out much more like a muffin/bread product with this much flour (unless you use extremely fine and low gluten flour like cake flour). SO, if you really want a true fairy cake and something a lot less dry you should reduce the flour to just over 1 cup (a heaped cupful). This will be more accurate, and more moist! Still I give this recipe 3 stars because it's basically good, just the proportions are slightly wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I've given this a three because the cakes I made were gorgeous but I made a few alterations to the recipe based on the comments so if I'd kept to the original recipe it would have been too dense and not spicy enough! I added just over a cup full of flour and added a teaspoon of mxed spice in with double the amont of cinnamon and ginger specified. I also Iced these with a cinnamon butter icing and they were delicious! Ligt, fluff, spicy and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
It was a great desert, not to rich, but just right. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
These really are simple to make and remember, but they're sort of bland. I added more of the spices than what it called for, and added more cardamom in the powdered sugar than what it called for and they still came out slightly bland. I'm not sure how fluffy these are supposed to be as I didn't have any self rising flour so I just winged it and added some baking powder. They tasted good warm out of the oven, and got a little crisp after cooling. A decent, tasty way to snack or start breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
This is a great recipe and these come out so great. They are just the right amount of sweetness that even those that don't care for sweets fall in love with them. I have my kindergarten class make them with me every year for St. Patricks day events and even my pickiest ones eat them! Thanks for the recipe it lives in my cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Very good overall. The one adjustment I made that I think helps overcome the blandness is putting the cardamom in the batter (1/4 tsp.) instead of on top, and bumping the ginger up to 1/2 tsp. Also drizzled a very light vanilla icing on top. Shared these with some friends and they loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I love this recipe. Thanks for putting it here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Ann Longoria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gonzales, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
They are good for what they are but they are kind of plain. They are really good for people who don't like chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
wow these are fast and easy, we love spice so add a tsp of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Great little cakes! I had to make some adjustments because of the flour, I have to have gluten free. I was a little worried, but the cakes turned out perfect. It seems like there needed to be more spice-ing up to these so I did double the cinnamon, put in 1/4 tsp of ginger AND nutmeg and just a dash of allspice. I also added 1/2 tsp of vanilla. Since I didn't have self-rising flour I added 1 1/2 tsp of baking powder and 1/4 tsp of salt to make up the difference. Information on the icing would have been nice, or at least a link to the one used. And one last thing, cardamom should NOT be optional! And there should be more than just a pinch. Thanks for sharing. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States