Spiced Eggplant Indian Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I have to say while I was making this it looked like it was going to be terrible. But boy was I wrong! This is amazing. I did top with a little feta so the kids would eat it, but the even without feta it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This is a good, easy recipe to use up eggplant. In an attempt to keep this low-fat, I did not add the clarified butter. I cooked the onions and tomatoes with Pam butter flavored spray, added garlic and a bit of salt. I also used much more spice than called for. Served it over brown rice and it really was tasty and very healthy. The leftovers were even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINAPEACOCK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This is so simple, delicious and easy to make. I didn't bake the eggplant, I just sauteed it with the onions and I used safflower oil instead of clarified butter. I added the fresh tomatoes very close to the end of cooking and just cooked them very lightly so they gave a little texture to the dish. I also used 5 really heaped teaspoons of cilantro seeds and ground them lightly so they were very pungent. Thank you for this recipe I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cardiff, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Redding, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Very yummy. I hadn't made eggplant before, so I wasn't quite sure whether to just mash the eggplant insides or to include the skin. I didn't include the skin, and it turned out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Had to substitute green onions and canned diced tomatoes (drained). Also, I was too impatient for the eggplant to finish getting mushy in the oven, so I pulled it out and cut into pieces...sautee'd it all (covered). Was delicious! Great alternative to fried eggplant. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
Indeed simple but oh so flavorful! I used canned diced tomatoes for even more simplicity, they were fine. Served this with steamed cauliflower and whole string beans, grilled yogurt chicken and basmati rice. Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pyong-Taek City, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
Absolutley faboulous receipe!!!!! Worth a try and not a lot of prep involved. Beautifull!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States