Spiced D'Anjou Pear Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
The most delicious, moist gingerbread ever. Just know that I think the author meant 3 eggs instead of 3 Tbs. of eggs. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissEisbar

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Loved it! The only thing I did diffent was run the pears through the blender so my kids wouldn't complain about "chunks" in their bread. They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This bread was easy to make and very moist and tasty. My 10 year old followed the recipe and she added some golden raisins and walnuts (she has to make everything her own). The loaves turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I used less sugar and oil. And I also peeled the pears as well. Very tasty though! Fast and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Wonderfully moist & tender. The molasses is not overbearing & the spices are perfect. This is a fantastic recipe, I wouldn't change a thing. This will go on my comfort food list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brush Prairie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
So delicious, freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This was the first time I ever made bread and I was so shocked at how well it turned out. I think next time I'm gonna cut the pears into smaller chunks. This tasted sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BOLOTY
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This was a very easy quick bread to make. I used a variety of pears and put a mixture of brown sugar and raw sugar on top of the bread. I also made mini loafs which are nice to give to the neighbors. They also freeze well. I will certainly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I halved the recipe and used canned pears, which I finely diced. I will cut back a little on the ginger next time and definitely cut the salt by half. I prefer other pear bread recipes that don't mask the pear flavor, but this bread is moist and delicious, very much like a spicy gingerbread. Would make an excellent giveaway bread for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Absolutely wonderful. Very moist. I used 2 cups all purpose flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States