Spiced D'Anjou Pear Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Made this once in a bundt pan and once as muffins, Yum! Subbed whole wheat flour and added gr. flax seeds. Also upped the spices but left out cloves as I didn't have any. Oh also used any old pears, soft or hard. YUM! Bake muffins for 30-35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This bread is delicious. The spices made it smell so good while baking, it was the perfect thing for a cool fall day. I made up some honey butter to spread on it, and it was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
My husband and I LOVE this recipe and it shrinks/grows well. I have made it in 1, 2, 4, 6 and 8 loaf batches, and every time it is delicious. I have subbed honey for molasses in the past and it worked well. I have also added MORE spice than the recipe calls for and that really bumped it up. Adding 2x the spice called for, a little nutmeg, and serving with mulled wine or hot apple cider did my guests in at a recent "Christmas in July" party. Oh yeah, I used pastry flour and that was pretty cool too. Well done JAWANDMEE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This was just ok. I be was expecting it to be a lot more flavorful but it was rather plain tasting without much pear or spice flavor to it. I even added more pear than what was called for, maybe use pear liquor or more spices?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Best bread ever!!!!! I love not having to wait for the pears to ripen. Wonderful flavor. I made a few changes-applesauce for oil, used 3 eggs, diced pears instead of slicing them, added pecans and baked in mini loaf pans. Hard to keep around once baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Thanks for giving my bread such rave reviews! I'm glad others like it as much as I do. Yes, it is supposed to read 3 whole eggs, not 3 tablespoons of eggs. I wonder if that can be changed on the recipe. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
YUM, YUM, YUM!! This bread is so good!! Smelled wonderful while baking - I couldn't wait to taste it! Now I can't stop eating it!! Didn't change a thing except to use 2c. all-purpose flour and 1c whole wheat flour as someone else suggested. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
this pear bread is absolutely divine! we received a box of very ripe royal riviera pears for christmas & i needed a good recipe to use a few of them quick. my pears were soft but worked well in this recipe & held their shape during the baking process. note: i used 3 eggs not 3 tablespoons eggs as written ~ typo? thank you jawandmee! there were rave reviews from everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Very Good! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Absolutely wonderful. Very moist. I used 2 cups all purpose flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States