Spiced D'Anjou Pear Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Finally a pear bread where I don't have to watch the pears rippen (so difficult to find them just when you want them). If I am out of molasses I substitute corn syrup which works fine. Thanks for a great addition to my files
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
A tasty, moist molasses flavoured bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
5 million stars!!! So delicious!! With half applesauce and half oil, extra spices, extra molasses, and lots of pears, I am raving about this moist bread! Awesome recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aRbie5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
the flavor was good but mine just didn't cook for some reason. I cooked it 70 minutes and it was still wet in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Good recipe! Nice change from traditional banana nut and zucchini breads. Great for the latter holidays! This recipe is very forgiving...and I followed a lot of other suggestions. I used honey instead of molasses (someone said they did), I ran out of brown sugar in the middle of baking and had to use some white sugar to make up the rest, used applesauce instead of oil (someone else also did), AND used 1 cup of whole wheat flour with 2 cups of all purpose. It really turned out great. The recipe is a touch sweet for me personally, but this bread definitely has plenty of spice to it. Will make again for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
after following recipe to a "T" i realized two things: 1. i dont like pears that are cooked & 2. i dont like molasses. bread wasnt for me on these counts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisainfl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Delicious! Moist! Spicy! Everything a sweet bread should be. My grocery store didn't have D'Anjou pears that particular day so I used Bosc pears. Like most quick breads, this one freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Absolutely delicious. Baked this for my family and will definitely be making this again for company. The house smelled AWESOME as it was baking. I did add chopped walnuts to make it a little extra special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Made this once in a bundt pan and once as muffins, Yum! Subbed whole wheat flour and added gr. flax seeds. Also upped the spices but left out cloves as I didn't have any. Oh also used any old pears, soft or hard. YUM! Bake muffins for 30-35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This bread is delicious. The spices made it smell so good while baking, it was the perfect thing for a cool fall day. I made up some honey butter to spread on it, and it was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States