Spiced D'Anjou Pear Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made this last night and it was a big hit! Everyone in my family and extended family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
the BEST recipe by far. Can't make enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Super delicious. People ask for this recipe. Freezes well, too. Would be nice to have on hand for a gift or unexpected company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Really great recipe - definitely works as a dessert offering, too. I served it at a dinner party with Hagen Daaz vanilla, and people loved it. I also subbed GF flour, and the recipe worked beautifully. I always recommend using the freshest spices you can and the best quality. I ground allspice and clove fresh for this, and there's no doubt it made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Eating this bread is like eating candy! It tastes delicious even though I substituted half the all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour. Such a good breakfast loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I make this every year. I puree my 4 large pears and then add a few chunks of pear to the batter. It is wonderful. I use home canned pears and it is so good. People ask for the recipe all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This is a perfect way to show off your fall pears! It is a very moist and flavorful bread. I diced my pears to 1/2" cubes after coring and peeling them to insure even distribution in the bread. I then dredged them first in the combined dry ingredients before stirring into the wet ingredients mixture. I finished the recipe as directed. They took 60 minutes to cook and are a hit with our family and friends. With such a moist "plummy" bread, I chose to wrap it in foil and store in my refrigerator. I serve it cut into 2" slices topped with fresh whipped cream. You can choose to heat the slices in the microwave before topping with either vanilla ice cream or fresh whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monte Rice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
this is one tasty bread recipe! i had a large crop of pears this summer and this was a delicious solution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Awesome, I halved the recipe because I was not sure. I will make the rest tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Delicious recipe; I made mini loaves and baked for approx 30 min. Also added walnuts pressed into the top--will incorporate next time. Used half whole wheat flour. Diced pears for more immersion of fruit within the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States