Spiced D'Anjou Pear Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
YUM, YUM, YUM!! This bread is so good!! Smelled wonderful while baking - I couldn't wait to taste it! Now I can't stop eating it!! Didn't change a thing except to use 2c. all-purpose flour and 1c whole wheat flour as someone else suggested. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Wonderfully moist & tender. The molasses is not overbearing & the spices are perfect. This is a fantastic recipe, I wouldn't change a thing. This will go on my comfort food list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brush Prairie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
So delicious, freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This was the first time I ever made bread and I was so shocked at how well it turned out. I think next time I'm gonna cut the pears into smaller chunks. This tasted sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BOLOTY
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This was a very easy quick bread to make. I used a variety of pears and put a mixture of brown sugar and raw sugar on top of the bread. I also made mini loafs which are nice to give to the neighbors. They also freeze well. I will certainly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I halved the recipe and used canned pears, which I finely diced. I will cut back a little on the ginger next time and definitely cut the salt by half. I prefer other pear bread recipes that don't mask the pear flavor, but this bread is moist and delicious, very much like a spicy gingerbread. Would make an excellent giveaway bread for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Absolutely wonderful. Very moist. I used 2 cups all purpose flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Very Good! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
this pear bread is absolutely divine! we received a box of very ripe royal riviera pears for christmas & i needed a good recipe to use a few of them quick. my pears were soft but worked well in this recipe & held their shape during the baking process. note: i used 3 eggs not 3 tablespoons eggs as written ~ typo? thank you jawandmee! there were rave reviews from everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Thanks for giving my bread such rave reviews! I'm glad others like it as much as I do. Yes, it is supposed to read 3 whole eggs, not 3 tablespoons of eggs. I wonder if that can be changed on the recipe. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States