Spiced D'Anjou Pear Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
The most delicious, moist gingerbread ever. Just know that I think the author meant 3 eggs instead of 3 Tbs. of eggs. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissEisbar

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
My husband and I LOVE this recipe and it shrinks/grows well. I have made it in 1, 2, 4, 6 and 8 loaf batches, and every time it is delicious. I have subbed honey for molasses in the past and it worked well. I have also added MORE spice than the recipe calls for and that really bumped it up. Adding 2x the spice called for, a little nutmeg, and serving with mulled wine or hot apple cider did my guests in at a recent "Christmas in July" party. Oh yeah, I used pastry flour and that was pretty cool too. Well done JAWANDMEE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BOLOTY
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This was a very easy quick bread to make. I used a variety of pears and put a mixture of brown sugar and raw sugar on top of the bread. I also made mini loafs which are nice to give to the neighbors. They also freeze well. I will certainly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Best bread ever!!!!! I love not having to wait for the pears to ripen. Wonderful flavor. I made a few changes-applesauce for oil, used 3 eggs, diced pears instead of slicing them, added pecans and baked in mini loaf pans. Hard to keep around once baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I halved the recipe and used canned pears, which I finely diced. I will cut back a little on the ginger next time and definitely cut the salt by half. I prefer other pear bread recipes that don't mask the pear flavor, but this bread is moist and delicious, very much like a spicy gingerbread. Would make an excellent giveaway bread for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This bread was easy to make and very moist and tasty. My 10 year old followed the recipe and she added some golden raisins and walnuts (she has to make everything her own). The loaves turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
YUM, YUM, YUM!! This bread is so good!! Smelled wonderful while baking - I couldn't wait to taste it! Now I can't stop eating it!! Didn't change a thing except to use 2c. all-purpose flour and 1c whole wheat flour as someone else suggested. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I used less sugar and oil. And I also peeled the pears as well. Very tasty though! Fast and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Loved it! The only thing I did diffent was run the pears through the blender so my kids wouldn't complain about "chunks" in their bread. They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Finally a pear bread where I don't have to watch the pears rippen (so difficult to find them just when you want them). If I am out of molasses I substitute corn syrup which works fine. Thanks for a great addition to my files
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States