Spiced D'Anjou Pear Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
My husband and I LOVE this recipe and it shrinks/grows well. I have made it in 1, 2, 4, 6 and 8 loaf batches, and every time it is delicious. I have subbed honey for molasses in the past and it worked well. I have also added MORE spice than the recipe calls for and that really bumped it up. Adding 2x the spice called for, a little nutmeg, and serving with mulled wine or hot apple cider did my guests in at a recent "Christmas in July" party. Oh yeah, I used pastry flour and that was pretty cool too. Well done JAWANDMEE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This was just ok. I be was expecting it to be a lot more flavorful but it was rather plain tasting without much pear or spice flavor to it. I even added more pear than what was called for, maybe use pear liquor or more spices?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Best bread ever!!!!! I love not having to wait for the pears to ripen. Wonderful flavor. I made a few changes-applesauce for oil, used 3 eggs, diced pears instead of slicing them, added pecans and baked in mini loaf pans. Hard to keep around once baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Thanks for giving my bread such rave reviews! I'm glad others like it as much as I do. Yes, it is supposed to read 3 whole eggs, not 3 tablespoons of eggs. I wonder if that can be changed on the recipe. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
YUM, YUM, YUM!! This bread is so good!! Smelled wonderful while baking - I couldn't wait to taste it! Now I can't stop eating it!! Didn't change a thing except to use 2c. all-purpose flour and 1c whole wheat flour as someone else suggested. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
this pear bread is absolutely divine! we received a box of very ripe royal riviera pears for christmas & i needed a good recipe to use a few of them quick. my pears were soft but worked well in this recipe & held their shape during the baking process. note: i used 3 eggs not 3 tablespoons eggs as written ~ typo? thank you jawandmee! there were rave reviews from everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Very Good! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Absolutely wonderful. Very moist. I used 2 cups all purpose flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I halved the recipe and used canned pears, which I finely diced. I will cut back a little on the ginger next time and definitely cut the salt by half. I prefer other pear bread recipes that don't mask the pear flavor, but this bread is moist and delicious, very much like a spicy gingerbread. Would make an excellent giveaway bread for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BOLOTY
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This was a very easy quick bread to make. I used a variety of pears and put a mixture of brown sugar and raw sugar on top of the bread. I also made mini loafs which are nice to give to the neighbors. They also freeze well. I will certainly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States