Spiced Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
The dough smelled amazing when I was making it. A few things though. 1) These don't work well for cookie cutters that have parts you indent into the dough. When the cookies bake, they kind of puff up, making my "gingerdead men" look rather obese, and destroying the skeleton imprint. 2) Don't overcook them. I liked them chewy, then you could actually taste the flavors. When they get too crispy they just sort of taste like overcooked sugar cookies. That said, if you undercook them they don't set and they fall apart and look gross, so it's a fine line. I wanted to try them with the gingerdead imprint cookie cutter, and fill the dents with icing, but since the imprint part puffed up and disappeared, I didn't bother making icing. I omitted the orange zest, since it usually grosses me out, but I sort of wish I hadn't, since the orange flavour wasn't very strong at all. Next time I will try with the orange zest. Will definitely make again. Easy recipe, smells AMAZING when you're making it. Tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlairSanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Love, Love, Love! Made these last Halloween, & Thanksgiving. Cookies stay softer than traditional gingerbread cookies, and everyone was a fan! Gave my sister the recipe, but she didn't have the cardamom. She really noticed the difference. I'm convinced that the spice makes all the diference. I also experimented with a gluten-free version (my father is celiac), substituting oatmeal flour. I lined my pumpkin pies with the dough for the crust. It puffed up quite a lot but I got a lot of compliments on the pie. Next time I would reduce the backing soda for that application (duh!). Anyway, these are a new favorite for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
These are the best cutouts. I made them for last Christmas as well and they kept incredibly well and the flavors kept getting better and better. I will never use another recipe but this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Yummy, just the right touch of spice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I would have given this recipe a higher score, but it's too spicy to be a gingerbread cookie. They are more like a soft ginger snap. The cookies are tasty, but extremely fragile if too thick. The dough is a bit dry at first and definitely needs a whole egg if cut in half, but perfect when kneeded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This is one of the best gingerbread recipes I've ever tried. The mix of spices is perfect and the dough was so easy to manage. In order to keep it from getting mushy, don't soften the butter too much and it won't need to be chilled at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
easy tomake, delicious to eat, but was missing some sweetness if they weren't frosted. Also, you need to refridgerate the dough otherwise you can't make cutouts, it is too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
These were a hit and will definitely become a tradition. The orange juice and zest adds a uniqueness. Although stirring in the flour was tough, I don't see a need to reduce it like others have mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
These are absolutely delicious! Spicy with ginger, but not too molasses-y! Our new Christmas recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Wonderful recipe. The cookies have a pleasant flavor and were not overly sugary. Even my son liked them, and he can be pretty picky about his cookies. We will undoubtedly make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States