Spiced Cranberry Apple Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
We had invited 7 people for Thanksgiving dinner and I made this Spiced Cranberry Chutney. Everyone just loved it and I had to write out the recipe a couple of times. Since then, I have made this recipe twice and I can say this is a "no-fault" recipe. Try it -- you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara N

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inverness, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Overall a good recipe but too sweet. Next time I will cut the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I cut the sugar in half, but this is AWESOME and a total keeper. While it cooked on the stove, the whole house smelled like Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmcq98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I took your advice and cut the sugar in half - it was delicious, also left out the pecans to make it lower in fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Nice change of pace! I followed others' advice with cutting the sugar in half. It was plenty sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Excellent sweet chutney. Almost finished cooking now, house smells amazing! Instead of cutting down sugar if you dont want it as sweet, simply add a little cranberry juice, or to be more like a true chutney add small amounts of apple cider vinegar towards the end of cooking to your preference. I add 1/4 cup red onion and a clove of garlic, also a little oriental 5 spice and cinnamon. about 4 or 5 good size oranges will give you the cup of juice and zest. Fresh ginger if possible. This is a delicious chutney recipe good for many uses, be creative! Going over brie stuffed chicken with prosciutto and wilted greens, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
So delish - followed others suggestion and cut the sugar in half and it was still really sweet. Tried it with a pork tenderloin and the flavors complimented each other nicely. The next day I found my husband with a spoon in one hand and the bowl of leftovers in his other hand...a true sign that this is a 'keeper'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
For Christmas, I put this on top of my baked brie appetizer with a little shaved cocoanut sprinkled on top to give it a festive snowflake flair. My family raved about it, and said it was delicious. Of course I had plenty left over to serve as a side dish. There was none left at the end of the meal. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Buckley Grant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Sweet & flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States