Spiced Coconut Coffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I loved this coffee! It was a very unique, flavorful cup of coffee! I adapted this recipe for a single serve, instant, decaf, coffee method because I'm the only coffee drinker in the house! It worked perfectly! This is what I did...I brewed a cup of instant coffee in the microwave. Then in a tea bag sleeve I added the following spices as listed in the recipe...1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper, 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon and 1/4 tsp. ground cloves. I dipped this into my coffee and let it steep for 2 minutes. Removed the spice filled tea bag and added the honey and coconut milk. I also added 3 drops of coconut extract for extra coconut flavor! This was exactly what I wanted! I'll be drinking this alot from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I'm a starbucks junkie and love lattes, pretty much all coffee, really; this recipe is very delicious. I've made it a few different ways, because I am low carbing. I use only half to 1 tsp. Honey, and I've also tried it with a little cream added to the coco milk mixture. With or without the cream it's very tasty, and I love the peppery kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Sorry, but this was the worst cup of coffee I have ever had and I usually like things with a twist. Not this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Washington, USA
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I hate to give this such a bad review, but I was really disapointed in the result. I love spice and coconut so I was really excited to try this, but it just wasn't very good. I followed everything as written, however I did use lite coconut milk, which may have made a difference. I didn't think it had much of a flavor other than coffee with a bit of spice. The coconut wasn't very strong and I didn't taste the clove or cinnamon at all. It may have been that the coffee pot brewed so quickly that the spices didn't have a chance to filter through. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charityrose91
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Very creamy, sweet with a hint of cider-like flavor! I used about 3 tbs of coffee grounds instead of 2 and added a hint of ground nutmeg into the grounds. Perfect for someone who strives to eat more naturally, is lactose intolerant or even Paleo, like myself! Even the non-paleo boyfriend approved. I will definitely make this again! plus it smells so good! mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is a tasty cup of coffe. My husband didn't care to try this recipe, and since some reviews thought the coffee was too weak I used an already brewed cup of coffe. I put 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper, 1/4 tsp cinnamon & 1 clove in a tea bag. I poured the coffee over it & let it steep a little. Then I heated the coconut milk & honey to mix in with it. it turned out tasty. It's probably better with the spices brewed into the coffee though, but I'll make this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
had to make a few changes, but enjoyed it anyway. Will try it the original way, next time. Instead of crushed red pepper, I used Cayenne pepper. I didn't have a cinnomon stick so i added about 1/2 tsp of ground cinnomon. I think it was a little on the weak side (for cinnomon). I wondered about the 2 whole cloves, but went with it anyway. I didn't find them to overpower the flavor. Infact, there is a spice flavor, but it isn't overwhelming at all. I bearly noticed the pepper (only because I knew to look for it), my husband didn't notice it at all. This is a fun drink I would consider doing again! though I want to do it with whip and cinn on top next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kharis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Yum! I'm drinking this right now. It really hits the spot. I found this recipe when I was going to make coffee and realized I was out of milk but had a can of coconut milk on hand. I didn't have cinnamon stick so I used 1/2 teaspoon ground and it was good but I will try the stick next time since I will definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Platano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I like the idea of this, but I didn't care for the cloves, and the honey was too sweet for my taste (I'd prefer it less sweet, and I'd use agave or sugar). Also, this makes weak coffee as written. It's a good start, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
A bit spicy, next time i might put in less pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Oil Coffee

Coconut oil and butter launch freshly brewed coffee into the flavor stratosphere.

How to Make Cold Brew Coffee

See how to make coffee concentrate for a hot or cold beverage.

Gunline Coffee

This winter coffee mixture features hot cocoa mix and holiday seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States