Spiced Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Love it! Creamy and beautiful AND EASY! (Didn't use the sherry)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This soup is wonderful. Very tasty and easy to make. It freezes well. Go easy on the Cayenne, you can always add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
added cinnamon and doubled the spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I just finished making this a second time in as many months, following the recipe exactly and I love it! Try garnishing with spiced pepitas, there are recipes to your liking all over the internet. For those of you who tripled the spices or like a little kick to your food, I think you will enjoy this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I LOVE butternut squash soup. I tried this recipe and was thoroughly disappointed! It tastes just like a bisque base because of the sherry and the cream. If that is what you want (and not a sweet nutty squash soup) then this recipe is PERFECT for you. What I might do next time is omit the sherry. That is all you can taste. It is too bad I wasted a lot of my winter harvest making this one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
The sherry really makes this pop. I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit. My squash was a bit under done when I took it out of the oven but I just cooked it a bit longer in the stock before I pureed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was delicious!! I also increased the spices--used scant 1/4 tsps for allspice, ginger and nutmeg. Left out the sherry b/c we don't usually have that, and I only used 1/2 cup of half-and-half--to me that was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was my first attempt to make butternut squash soup. I was very pleased. I cut the recipe in half, used a sweet potato instead of the russet and added a tablespoon of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This was quite good. I did substitute 2 golden delicious apples for the potatoes, tripled the spices (except the cayenne) and used a dry white wine instead of sherry since that was what I had. and I used fat free half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I loved this receipe with some minor variations... I only had 32 oz of broth and I also used a small acroen squash and thrrew in some beets I had in the fridge. I did not puree, but mashed and left the chunks. The key to this recipe is the spice combo. LOVED it! and ate it all myself over about 4 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by binney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States