Spiced Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Please, somebody...I loved the soup but feel like I drank a bowl of salt. Chicken broth is real salty. Anyone else have this problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dede

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
after roasting the squash, and sauteeing the onions, leek and garlic, i put all ingredients in the crock pot for the entire day. The result was a deep, rich flavor. The only thing i would change is i would omit the cayenne pepper or at least limit it to a sprinkle. The bite of the cayenned detracted from the rich, deep flavor of the soup. definetly would make this again without the cayenne. tx for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Excellent soup! I pretty much followed the recipe except I used 1 potato and 1 apple, next time I think I will probably use 2 apples and no potato. I didn't have any allspice so I substituted Pumpkin Pie Spice for all the spices. I also used milk instead. It wasn't as thick or creamy as I thought it would be but it was still really good. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
My wife loved it. I did not. It was expensive to make, took a long time and made a big mess. I scooped the mixture into a food processor from the hot pot on the stove and blended each batch. I suppose it was my fault, but while I did this, it often spilled onto the stove top. Then I had to use a second pot to receive the blended mixture. I had to wash two large pots and the food processor. I did use milk instead of half & half and apples instead of potatoes. It tasted okay, but not worth the bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hijaq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Very good soup. Out of necessity, I used one medium butternut squash, 2 TB bacon grease, 2 leeks, 3 cloves garlic, 6 cups chicken broth, no potatoes, no onions, and white wine instead of sherry. It was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn BD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bergen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This is soooo good. Made 1/2 recipe and wished I'd make the whole thing. Did not add wine or sour cream but stilll WILL MAKE AGAIN for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYLYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I made this for the first time using Boston Marrow Squash instead of Butternut, and it worked just fine. My husband really liked it. I would like to substitute the 1/2 n 1/2 for something non-dairy like unsweetened almond milk, but I'm not sure what I will lose in depth or flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Might be biased since I love this squash...oh well! I think I might have added 2x as much squash since I didn't measure...turned out a bit like stew but still very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Outstanding! Tastes like fall :) love the spies. I didn't even use the sour cream or half and half and it comes out phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexg02176

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States