Spiced Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Excellent soup to make and freeze or wow guests. I used apple and sweet potato instead of the russet potatoes. I also added a bit of thyme and rosemary and topped the soup with pomegranate seeds. Delicious and attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This is pretty good although I think I preferred it before I added the sherry wine. I had tasted it and liked it and have never added sherry before to this kind of soup so I thought I would try it and I prefer it without. I did not add the cayenne pepper due to personal taste and I didn't have a leek so just used the onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Soup was fantastic! I used sweet potato instead of idaho and I didn't have any sherry so I used Shiraz. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly and my dad and teenage son absolutely loved it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Dee liked Jim did not
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Entire family including young children loved the soup. I doubled the spices because it tasted a little bland to me. I used 1% milk thickened with Wondra flour instead of 1/2 and 1/2 to lower the fat content and I think I got almost as good of a "creamy" taste as if I had used 1/2 and 1/2. To make it easier for me, I just roasted the squash whole. It's so hard to cut those in half raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I have been wanting to make my own butternut squash soup for a long time now, and I think this is the best recipe I could have tried! It is absolutely amazing! I didn't even screw it up :) I wanted to do a double batch but I was short chicken broth so I added apple cider. I wish I had done what another reviewer said and added an apple in place of one of the potatos too. Next time! I will be making this again! I also added more spice than it called for and I would recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Absolutley Amazing! I have never had butternut squash soup but wanted to try it. It is the most delicious soup I have ever eaten. It is very filling as well. I like my soups a bit thick so I used 32oz of chx broth, which was a bit too much as it was too thin after I pureed it. Therefore I used only half of the sherry and half-and-half. I would have liked to use the full amount because I love the flavor that they fave it but I did not want to thin out the soup any more. I also put LOTS of cayenne pepper since I like it spicy, brown sugar and cinnamon as other people had suggested. Next time I will add and apple and a sweet potato, I wish I had listened to other reviews and done it this time. Either way it was super yummy! The basic recipe is great and tweaking it to your taste will just vamp it up! I cant wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Please, somebody...I loved the soup but feel like I drank a bowl of salt. Chicken broth is real salty. Anyone else have this problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dede

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
after roasting the squash, and sauteeing the onions, leek and garlic, i put all ingredients in the crock pot for the entire day. The result was a deep, rich flavor. The only thing i would change is i would omit the cayenne pepper or at least limit it to a sprinkle. The bite of the cayenned detracted from the rich, deep flavor of the soup. definetly would make this again without the cayenne. tx for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States