Spiced Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! I will definitely make it again. I doubled it for a party, and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clayton, California, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Flavor was pretty good, but did not care for the texture, very thin and watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Great soup. I made a bunch of minor changes. First of all, I increased it to 14 servings. (2 squashes). For spices: I substituted curry and chili powder (about 1/2 tsp each) instead of the cayenne. I used red wine (cab) instead of the sherry and sweet potatoes (already cooked and soft) instead of russet. Yummy and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Excellent soup to make and freeze or wow guests. I used apple and sweet potato instead of the russet potatoes. I also added a bit of thyme and rosemary and topped the soup with pomegranate seeds. Delicious and attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This is pretty good although I think I preferred it before I added the sherry wine. I had tasted it and liked it and have never added sherry before to this kind of soup so I thought I would try it and I prefer it without. I did not add the cayenne pepper due to personal taste and I didn't have a leek so just used the onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Soup was fantastic! I used sweet potato instead of idaho and I didn't have any sherry so I used Shiraz. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly and my dad and teenage son absolutely loved it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Dee liked Jim did not
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Entire family including young children loved the soup. I doubled the spices because it tasted a little bland to me. I used 1% milk thickened with Wondra flour instead of 1/2 and 1/2 to lower the fat content and I think I got almost as good of a "creamy" taste as if I had used 1/2 and 1/2. To make it easier for me, I just roasted the squash whole. It's so hard to cut those in half raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I have been wanting to make my own butternut squash soup for a long time now, and I think this is the best recipe I could have tried! It is absolutely amazing! I didn't even screw it up :) I wanted to do a double batch but I was short chicken broth so I added apple cider. I wish I had done what another reviewer said and added an apple in place of one of the potatos too. Next time! I will be making this again! I also added more spice than it called for and I would recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States