Spiced Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
this soup was AMAZING! i'VE already made it twice in 3 weeks! I also added an acorn squash as one of the other comments suggested and i amped up the spices as well. i brought a bunch to work and i couldn't print out the recipes fast enough....everyone wanted it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I love getting spiced butternut at restaurants so when I decided to make some this ended up being a good base. I took some advice from previous reviews and made these changes: 1/4 teaspoon cayenne 1/2 teaspoon all other spices No russet potatoes--- instead 1 yam and 1 apple Silk brand of Almond milk instead of half and half and 2 cups Only 4 cups of chicken broth I like a lot of spice to my food so upping the spices was just a hands-down-must. Going with the yam and apple just seemed to be a favorite of people on here and I went that way. I used almond milk since I'm lactose intolerant and it is still fairly thick (Silk brand that is) and taking that to two cups smoothed it very nicely while only four cups of chicken brother helped bring down the liquid. I baked the squash, but then cut everything and put it in my slow cooker for ten hours while stirring it occasionally and using my hand blender at the final hour mark. For this size of the recipe using a 6+ quart slow cooker would be ideal. With these variations I LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Disappointing. My husband liked it a lot, but I thought with the sherry and potatoes, you lost the flavor of the butternut squash (which I happen to like). And I agree with those who said it was too thin. I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
My family loved this recipe with some minor changes... I more than doubled the pepper, allspice, nutmeg and ginger and added some cloves and cinnamon just because they're great spices. had some extra sweet potatoes, so I added them along with the russets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Lovely! I took several of the suggestions by others here. Used a large yam instead of potatoes, and doubled the spices. In addition, I skipped the oven step for the squash and cut up the squash with the yam and added them all to the pot at the correct time, but used a Pressure Cooker. Set the timer for 20 mins when I started it, and then took it off heat. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
WARNING: I did not make this as listed. Don't freak out. I left out the butter and steamed the onions/leeks to softness, then left out the half-and-half altogether. This was healthy and hearty, and I am looking forward to making it much more often. With a heavy whole-grain slice of toast. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Double the spices and don't skip the sherry. That really gives it a punch. I omitted one potato and put in 1/2 cup each of celery and carrot. One daughter asked if she could not finish her serving. But she doesn't like sweet potatoes either and this is pretty close. The others liked this and I've made it twice. I have used canned (2 cans) pureed squash to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I've made this soup twice in the last month, it's become my new favorite! I like it with more kick, so I use extra ginger and cayenne, so easily adaptable. It's super tasty when served with a dollop of nonfat greek yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOCKTURTLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! I will definitely make it again. I doubled it for a party, and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clayton, California, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Flavor was pretty good, but did not care for the texture, very thin and watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States