Spiced Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Delicious! I eyeballed the amounts, especially for the spices. I really like the taste and texture. I also baked the potatoes with the squash, then cooked the potatoes as directed. In my experience, potatoes take forever, so I figured I'd come at them both ways. I used already cut and peeled squash, but it still took about 40-50 minutes to bake it. I also used milk instead of half and half--don't have any. Topped with a bit of parsley and chives. Great soup for a chilly autumn night. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I just made this soup for dinner party tonight and WOW! I can't stop eating it! I did use 1/3 vegetable stock instead of all chicken stock (just because that was what I had). I also added a cup of apple sauce. YUM! I plan on garnishing with sour cream, chopped green onions and chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I was inspired by Jeff's picture today to make this. It needed a lot more of the spices (approx 1/2 tsp or more of each one) but it was heavenly otherwise. I used reduced fat half & half but would probably use evaporated milk or regular low fat milk next time. I'd make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Followed recipe exactly. DH loved it, the kids weren't thrilled & I thought it was good, but missing something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOWA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This was absolutely wonderful. I thought it would be good after reading the reviews, but it was even better. I did not have any sherry, so substituted in some red wine. I did not add the allspice or nutmeg as I did not have any. I did double up on the cayenne, as we like a bit more bite. I also added some shredded carrots along with the squash. I didn't add the optional sour cream, as it just did not need it. Thank you for submitting this recipe. It is my new favourite soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Very good! I omitted the allspice and topped mine with parmesan, fresh basil and roasted hazelnuts. Will also try the sour cream garnish with the leftover soup (of which there is very little). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This was the best butternut squash soup I've ever tasted! I didn't use large russet potatoes though, I used a few small potatoes, in case you're carb concious. And I didn't use as much cream. I highly recommend this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIozzo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Penfield, New York, USA
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This was pretty good. I like the fact that it is made with a healthy vegetable that doesn't often make its way to my table. I'm sure this is blasphemous but I didn't include the half and half or milk. When I got to that stage I just didn't think it needed it. The consistency is really pleasant without it. I served it for lunch on a "waiting for snow day." I served with a crusty bread, good hard cheese and sliced apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
My picky family even ate this! I made mine in a crockpot and didn't saute the vegtables. I just put everything in the crockpot except for the sherry and half and half, which I added at the end. I doubled all the seasonings except the cayenne pepper. I did use 2 potatoes and an apple. I will make again, and probably take Kimkitchen3 and use sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Like other posters, I suggest you start with less chicken broth because you can always add more to dilute it. Also, it's amazing how potent 1/8 tsp of cayenne is, so be careful! Seemed a little bland for my taste, so in the future I'd use apples rather than or in addition to potatoes, as the squash needs to sugar for the flavor to come out. I added more garlic to enhance the flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States