Spiced Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This was very good, but I think the cayenne pepper could be cut down alittle since I not a big fan of spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I added a bit of brown sugar to the top of the soup just before serving,and used cinnamon instead of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was so declicious and so easy to make. I did what a couple of others suggested, used sweet potato and doubled the spices (except the cayenne). I forgot the salt and pepper, but didn't really need it since there was so many other flavors going on. Awesome recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Really good squash soup... I followed some of the other suggestions and used apples instead of potatoes, 2% milk instead of cream, doubled the spices except for cayenne, and added a touch of rosemary. Final result was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
this was fantastic!!! i followed the suggestion to use apples instead of potatoes and i have to say, it was genius. i don't think it would have tasted quite so flavorful if i had used the potatoes. a+++ for that. i halfed the recipe (because i used half of the squash to make baby food) and used a 32 oz carton of chicken broth. i still used the full amount of spices and it tasted wonderful! highly suggest if you like it spicier. overall this was an awesome soup! i will make it again over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Very good and super easy to make. I cooked the squash a bit longer, used small red potatoes, added an apple, and doubled + all the spices plus added curry powder. I didn't add any cream or sour cream...it didn't need it so it seemed like unneeded fat. I also put everything through the blender together. Looking forward to making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I made this for my toddler and he loved it - but everyone else I let try it loved it too. I used sweet potato instead of regular ones, just because thats's what I had and my son likes them. I also used much less cream and only used sour cream. All of our family love spices (baby very much included!)so I put a lot more of these than the recipe - maybe a teaspoon of each, except the cayenne which was more like 1/4 - 1/3 teaspoon. I highly recommend this and there's plenty of scope for variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
excellent - did add more spices. Sometimes I also add a can of pureed northern beans and/or some chicken to make a complete meal. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Elizabeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Way too much onion taste! I think it really overpowered the soup. I would make it again but only use just a leek rather than both leek and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Love Love Love it. I made this three times this summer and that is unusual for me. My daughter started making it too. Thanks LuvMyFamily. I couldn't believe I forgot to rate this earlier this summer. I had some extra cooked carrots and threw them in with the soup too. I swear I can see better every time I eat this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWENSONL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States