Spiced Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Loved it with a few changes: Per other suggestions, I used apples (and one small white potato), doubled the spices (except the cayenne pepper), added finely chopped sage and rosemary to build the flavor. I used a non-dairy milk (soy milk) instead. I didn't even need to use all the broth the recipe suggested. This will definitely be a staple in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
The soup has a wonderful taste, but it turned out rather thin. I would add less liquid next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Juniper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Excellent Recipe. My family and I loved this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I did not enjoy the soup. The onion and the sherry completely overpowers the sweet delicate taste of the butternut squash. I also don't think the allspice complements the squash either. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Wonderful! I used sweet potatoes, added two apples and used 6 cups of broth. I left out the ginger and sherry because I didn't have any. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This was absolutely delicious. I made this soup on a hot summer day with a 95F temperature outside. I peeled the squash by hand and then diced it into one inch cubes. I also substituted purple potatoes for russets. The diced squash and potatoes tasted great and I didn't bother running them through a blender. Although spicy, this was a refreshing soup for a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I have had this soup with apples and that brings out the flavor more than the spicyness of this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIMAEATS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
My daughter and I were looking for a rich, creamy soup on a cold winter night in Nova Scotia and this filled the bill- but we did make a few adjustments- some out of necessity. We could not find 3 lbs of butternut squash in our grocery store in January so we used acorn too. We used sweet potato instead of regular and doubled the allspice and nutmeg and added some cinnamon and a bit more sherry. We tasted and tasted until I was afraid it would all be gone then she suggested a tablespoon of Maple Syrup. Perfect. We saved some for my husband (3 days in the fridge) and it was even better as the flavours had a chance to absorb. A dollop of sour cream with a pinch of dill made it beautiful to look at as well. Would like to try it with all butternut squash as it has a nicer colour than acorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States