Spiced Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Yum! Love the flavors! HINT: Costco has organic cubed butternut squash already to go. Added a couple of carrots. Used 8 cups of low sodium broth. Doubled the spices to 1/4 tsp except the cayenne. Used 1/2 cup half-n-half and a 1/3 cup of cooking sherry. Delicious! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Love this soup. My family ask for this for the holidays. I also add ham for lunch meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Instead of chicken broth, I used fresh duck broth. Added Fresh Rosemary and a bit more garlic than they wanted! I used a little bit of smoked paprika also, along with fresh parmesan cheese! Served it with garlic croutons and of course the dollop of sour cream! I made this with left over butternut squash, turnip, parsnip and garlic that I had previously roasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kealasgram

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Lots of work and didn't really care for the flavor - I'll keep looking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This recipe was good. Based on reviews, I subbed apples for potatoes and tripled the spices. Unfortunately I had no sherry and I will make sure to add it next time as something was definitely missing. I also sprinkled cinnamon on the leftovers and it definitely enhanced the flavor, so add cinnamon! If you all are looking for a more flavor in your BNS soup, check out the "Butternut Squash Soup with a Kick" recipe on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Wonderful soup. I cooked the squash with the potatoes adding them to the sauted leeks, onions and garlic. I also added two stalks of celery. I covered the mixture with 32 oz of chicken broth, as another reviewer mentioned the thinness of the final product, brought to a boil, covered and simmered for about 20 minutes. This cuts the cooking time in half (especially if you buy the peeled and cut up squash at the grocery store). I pureed with an immersion blender. I used 1/2 cup heavy cream instead of half and half. The potatoes give it the thicker texture even though I'm sure the apples provide another level of sweetness. I make a mushroom and bacon soup by Ann Burrel using a similar process. I will definitely make again!!! Maybe next time I'll add some spicy sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Very little flavor, even when doubling the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Great flavor. I do add quite a bit of fresh cracked pepper as I like a little bite to my food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Delicious! I like the lower fat option of half and half instead of heavy cream. Big hit in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Very good recipe. I think next time I might leave out the sherry. I tasted it before I added it and thought the flavor was better.I also did not use as much chicken broth (homemade) to avoid the runny-ness others have talked about. I used one apple and one potato. I might use two apples next time. I think this recipe could be modified to include other spices; it seems like it would be very versatile. I did add more cayenne pepper for some extra spiciness. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States