Spiced Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Delicious! Took to a party, and everyone raved! I think using milk would lower the fat and be just as yummy. ***By the way, I did not use as much broth as the recipe calls for...I probably used half as much! Start with maybe 4 cups broth then add to your desired taste and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
This was a fantastic soup! Rich and creamy. My husband and I ate it all up in a weekend. I omitted the sherry red wine, not a big fan of it. I also used summer squash from my garden (instead of butternut) extra garlic, and stirred an entire container of sour cream right into the soup. I think next time I am going to puree crab into it. This is an easy recip!!! Well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Absolutely fantastic rich and creamy butternut soup! I omitted the sherry (only b/c I was out)and added a bit of ground cloves and cinnamon. Absolutely fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
The best soup EVER!! Tasty and VERY satisfying. I shared it with my friends and family who loved it as much as I did. Can't wait to make another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Delicious!!!! I ommitted the potatoes because I did not have them and it was still great. Good soup for a rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
the soup is really great, the spices add a great flavor, and really mature if you freeze it, which i had to do. very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Plover, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
This is a delicious soup, but I used two apples instead of the potatoes for even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This was DELICIOUS! My husband had just come home from a business trip and was raving about a butternut squash soup he had in a restaurant. They had added a dollop of crabmeat in the middle of the soup just prior to serving it. I didn't think that sounded very appetizing, but when I made this soup and added the crabmeat (and used the optional sour cream)it was very very good. My husband said it was very close the the restaurant soup. We loved it and I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
excellent soup! not a huge fan of squash, but it doesn't have a strong flavor. I used green onion instead of leeks and it worked just fine. great in a bread bowl or with fresh bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Excellent recipe! I make this soup at least once every year. I use skim milk rather than half and half and it is still great. Don't skip the sherry, it adds a great flavor. Just fyi, I alter the recipe each time depending on what I have on hand, and I don't think you can mess it up. One time I used vegetable broth instead of chicken for a vegetarian friend, and it was not as good, but still fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States