Spiced Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This was fantastic with a few additions! Like another reviewer, I added the puree from an acorn squash. I also doubled the spices with the exception of the cayenne pepper. It seemed still to be lacking something, so I tried a small amount with some finely ground rosemary. What a finish!! One word about the ingredient list. Even I, a seasoned (no pun intended)cook was momentarily confused by the listing--2 (49.5 oz) cans of chicken stock; and further interested in how the 49.5 oz. was arrived at since no combination of the popular can/box sizes (14, 28, 32 oz.) would total that amount. I settled for a 14 oz. can and a 32 oz. box of vegetable stock to good results. Who's going to quibble over 3.5 oz. anyway?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
This is a delicious soup, but I used two apples instead of the potatoes for even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I've been using this recipe for over a year now, about time I rated! This is the most wonderful soup in the universe. It makes so much, but I never have to throw a bit away, it always gets eaten. The only thing I do differently is use sweet potatoes in lieu of the white potatoes. Thanks so much for this wonderful comfort soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Delicious! Took to a party, and everyone raved! I think using milk would lower the fat and be just as yummy. ***By the way, I did not use as much broth as the recipe calls for...I probably used half as much! Start with maybe 4 cups broth then add to your desired taste and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Excellent flavor and texture! I halved the recipe and it worked just fine, although I'm not a stickler for measuring. Because my squash was large, I cooked it longer than recommended so it would be really soft. The blender puree is a necessary step - don't just mash it you'll miss out on the smooth texture of the soup. Also, the sherry and cream really add a depth of flavor. For seasonings, I skipped the cayenne pepper and added a bit of cinnamon instead. Also, I used course ground black pepper, but found it distracting with the pure texture/color of the soup. Next time I'll use fine white pepper instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maitland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Wow!!! Definitely cook the squash long enough and puree it long enough. You need to make sure the little bumps are all out...SO creamy. I even pureed it again after adding the half & half and sherry. I didn't change a thing (all 50 oz of chicken stock) and the sour cream added to the bowl was a great idea! I tried making another recipe once and it was average at best. THIS is FABULOUS! My husband was very impressed with the "Now this is GOOD" grunt upon devouring. One kid ate it...the other didn't. Who knows? Couldn't stop eating it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaLovesCookin'

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Very good! I omitted the allspice and topped mine with parmesan, fresh basil and roasted hazelnuts. Will also try the sour cream garnish with the leftover soup (of which there is very little). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
This soup is fabulous! I have made it for several large groups and everyone always goes back for seconds. To save time and effort I recommend buying pre-cut Butternut Squash, as those things are a pain to cut. Trader Joe's sells one pound bags in the produce section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
the soup is really great, the spices add a great flavor, and really mature if you freeze it, which i had to do. very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Plover, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
A nice savory soup. I doubled the spices to suit my taste. The flavor doesn't scream squash at you, just a nice mild taste. Makes a whole lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States