Spiced Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Excellent Recipe. My family and I loved this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I did not enjoy the soup. The onion and the sherry completely overpowers the sweet delicate taste of the butternut squash. I also don't think the allspice complements the squash either. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Wonderful! I used sweet potatoes, added two apples and used 6 cups of broth. I left out the ginger and sherry because I didn't have any. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This was absolutely delicious. I made this soup on a hot summer day with a 95F temperature outside. I peeled the squash by hand and then diced it into one inch cubes. I also substituted purple potatoes for russets. The diced squash and potatoes tasted great and I didn't bother running them through a blender. Although spicy, this was a refreshing soup for a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I have had this soup with apples and that brings out the flavor more than the spicyness of this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIMAEATS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
My daughter and I were looking for a rich, creamy soup on a cold winter night in Nova Scotia and this filled the bill- but we did make a few adjustments- some out of necessity. We could not find 3 lbs of butternut squash in our grocery store in January so we used acorn too. We used sweet potato instead of regular and doubled the allspice and nutmeg and added some cinnamon and a bit more sherry. We tasted and tasted until I was afraid it would all be gone then she suggested a tablespoon of Maple Syrup. Perfect. We saved some for my husband (3 days in the fridge) and it was even better as the flavours had a chance to absorb. A dollop of sour cream with a pinch of dill made it beautiful to look at as well. Would like to try it with all butternut squash as it has a nicer colour than acorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I love this recipe! I needed a recipe for the butternut squash and this one hit it right on the spot! The flavor is incredible. Thank you for posting this. I will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This was great! I modified the recipe slightly. I doubled the allspice, nuteg, and ginger. I also used one sweet potato and one granny smith apple instead of the two russet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States