Spiced Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Love it! Creamy and beautiful AND EASY! (Didn't use the sherry)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This soup is wonderful. Very tasty and easy to make. It freezes well. Go easy on the Cayenne, you can always add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
added cinnamon and doubled the spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I just finished making this a second time in as many months, following the recipe exactly and I love it! Try garnishing with spiced pepitas, there are recipes to your liking all over the internet. For those of you who tripled the spices or like a little kick to your food, I think you will enjoy this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I LOVE butternut squash soup. I tried this recipe and was thoroughly disappointed! It tastes just like a bisque base because of the sherry and the cream. If that is what you want (and not a sweet nutty squash soup) then this recipe is PERFECT for you. What I might do next time is omit the sherry. That is all you can taste. It is too bad I wasted a lot of my winter harvest making this one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
The sherry really makes this pop. I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit. My squash was a bit under done when I took it out of the oven but I just cooked it a bit longer in the stock before I pureed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was delicious!! I also increased the spices--used scant 1/4 tsps for allspice, ginger and nutmeg. Left out the sherry b/c we don't usually have that, and I only used 1/2 cup of half-and-half--to me that was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was my first attempt to make butternut squash soup. I was very pleased. I cut the recipe in half, used a sweet potato instead of the russet and added a tablespoon of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This was quite good. I did substitute 2 golden delicious apples for the potatoes, tripled the spices (except the cayenne) and used a dry white wine instead of sherry since that was what I had. and I used fat free half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I loved this receipe with some minor variations... I only had 32 oz of broth and I also used a small acroen squash and thrrew in some beets I had in the fridge. I did not puree, but mashed and left the chunks. The key to this recipe is the spice combo. LOVED it! and ate it all myself over about 4 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by binney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States