Spiced Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Excellent soup! I pretty much followed the recipe except I used 1 potato and 1 apple, next time I think I will probably use 2 apples and no potato. I didn't have any allspice so I substituted Pumpkin Pie Spice for all the spices. I also used milk instead. It wasn't as thick or creamy as I thought it would be but it was still really good. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
My wife loved it. I did not. It was expensive to make, took a long time and made a big mess. I scooped the mixture into a food processor from the hot pot on the stove and blended each batch. I suppose it was my fault, but while I did this, it often spilled onto the stove top. Then I had to use a second pot to receive the blended mixture. I had to wash two large pots and the food processor. I did use milk instead of half & half and apples instead of potatoes. It tasted okay, but not worth the bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hijaq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Very good soup. Out of necessity, I used one medium butternut squash, 2 TB bacon grease, 2 leeks, 3 cloves garlic, 6 cups chicken broth, no potatoes, no onions, and white wine instead of sherry. It was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn BD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bergen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This is soooo good. Made 1/2 recipe and wished I'd make the whole thing. Did not add wine or sour cream but stilll WILL MAKE AGAIN for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYLYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I made this for the first time using Boston Marrow Squash instead of Butternut, and it worked just fine. My husband really liked it. I would like to substitute the 1/2 n 1/2 for something non-dairy like unsweetened almond milk, but I'm not sure what I will lose in depth or flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Might be biased since I love this squash...oh well! I think I might have added 2x as much squash since I didn't measure...turned out a bit like stew but still very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Outstanding! Tastes like fall :) love the spies. I didn't even use the sour cream or half and half and it comes out phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexg02176

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Probably my least favorite butternut squash soup ever. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out really thin. I think there is way too much broth + the other liquid from the sherry and half-n-half didn't help. The onion/leek/sherry overpowered the taste of the squash and the spices just seemed weird. I'm not sure if there was a typo in the amount of broth, but if I was ever to make this again (probably won't) I would halve the amount of liquid and skip the sherry. The reason I gave it 2 stars was because the rest of my family actually really liked it. My 3yo kids ate 3 bowls of it in one sitting and my 16mo kept asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I have tried this soup following the original recipe and with others suggestions, and it is fantastic the only thing I added on my own was creme friache which just made it even more special. My husband and family love it and request it often. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
This was a wonderful recipe. The changes I implemented were: used homemade chicken stock; only used 1/4 cup of sherry (very dry); I felt the half & half cream would be too heavy, I used 2tblsp butter, 3 tblsp flour and 2 cups of skim milk, cook, thicken and puree with squash mixture. I used the spices as noted. Wow -- great with home baked bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Lindsey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States