Spiced Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Instead of chicken broth, I used fresh duck broth. Added Fresh Rosemary and a bit more garlic than they wanted! I used a little bit of smoked paprika also, along with fresh parmesan cheese! Served it with garlic croutons and of course the dollop of sour cream! I made this with left over butternut squash, turnip, parsnip and garlic that I had previously roasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kealasgram

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Lots of work and didn't really care for the flavor - I'll keep looking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This recipe was good. Based on reviews, I subbed apples for potatoes and tripled the spices. Unfortunately I had no sherry and I will make sure to add it next time as something was definitely missing. I also sprinkled cinnamon on the leftovers and it definitely enhanced the flavor, so add cinnamon! If you all are looking for a more flavor in your BNS soup, check out the "Butternut Squash Soup with a Kick" recipe on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Wonderful soup. I cooked the squash with the potatoes adding them to the sauted leeks, onions and garlic. I also added two stalks of celery. I covered the mixture with 32 oz of chicken broth, as another reviewer mentioned the thinness of the final product, brought to a boil, covered and simmered for about 20 minutes. This cuts the cooking time in half (especially if you buy the peeled and cut up squash at the grocery store). I pureed with an immersion blender. I used 1/2 cup heavy cream instead of half and half. The potatoes give it the thicker texture even though I'm sure the apples provide another level of sweetness. I make a mushroom and bacon soup by Ann Burrel using a similar process. I will definitely make again!!! Maybe next time I'll add some spicy sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Very little flavor, even when doubling the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Great flavor. I do add quite a bit of fresh cracked pepper as I like a little bite to my food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Delicious! I like the lower fat option of half and half instead of heavy cream. Big hit in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Very good recipe. I think next time I might leave out the sherry. I tasted it before I added it and thought the flavor was better.I also did not use as much chicken broth (homemade) to avoid the runny-ness others have talked about. I used one apple and one potato. I might use two apples next time. I think this recipe could be modified to include other spices; it seems like it would be very versatile. I did add more cayenne pepper for some extra spiciness. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
this soup was AMAZING! i'VE already made it twice in 3 weeks! I also added an acorn squash as one of the other comments suggested and i amped up the spices as well. i brought a bunch to work and i couldn't print out the recipes fast enough....everyone wanted it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I love getting spiced butternut at restaurants so when I decided to make some this ended up being a good base. I took some advice from previous reviews and made these changes: 1/4 teaspoon cayenne 1/2 teaspoon all other spices No russet potatoes--- instead 1 yam and 1 apple Silk brand of Almond milk instead of half and half and 2 cups Only 4 cups of chicken broth I like a lot of spice to my food so upping the spices was just a hands-down-must. Going with the yam and apple just seemed to be a favorite of people on here and I went that way. I used almond milk since I'm lactose intolerant and it is still fairly thick (Silk brand that is) and taking that to two cups smoothed it very nicely while only four cups of chicken brother helped bring down the liquid. I baked the squash, but then cut everything and put it in my slow cooker for ten hours while stirring it occasionally and using my hand blender at the final hour mark. For this size of the recipe using a 6+ quart slow cooker would be ideal. With these variations I LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States