Spiced Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I added a bit of brown sugar to the top of the soup just before serving,and used cinnamon instead of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was so declicious and so easy to make. I did what a couple of others suggested, used sweet potato and doubled the spices (except the cayenne). I forgot the salt and pepper, but didn't really need it since there was so many other flavors going on. Awesome recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Really good squash soup... I followed some of the other suggestions and used apples instead of potatoes, 2% milk instead of cream, doubled the spices except for cayenne, and added a touch of rosemary. Final result was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
this was fantastic!!! i followed the suggestion to use apples instead of potatoes and i have to say, it was genius. i don't think it would have tasted quite so flavorful if i had used the potatoes. a+++ for that. i halfed the recipe (because i used half of the squash to make baby food) and used a 32 oz carton of chicken broth. i still used the full amount of spices and it tasted wonderful! highly suggest if you like it spicier. overall this was an awesome soup! i will make it again over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Very good and super easy to make. I cooked the squash a bit longer, used small red potatoes, added an apple, and doubled + all the spices plus added curry powder. I didn't add any cream or sour cream...it didn't need it so it seemed like unneeded fat. I also put everything through the blender together. Looking forward to making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I made this for my toddler and he loved it - but everyone else I let try it loved it too. I used sweet potato instead of regular ones, just because thats's what I had and my son likes them. I also used much less cream and only used sour cream. All of our family love spices (baby very much included!)so I put a lot more of these than the recipe - maybe a teaspoon of each, except the cayenne which was more like 1/4 - 1/3 teaspoon. I highly recommend this and there's plenty of scope for variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
excellent - did add more spices. Sometimes I also add a can of pureed northern beans and/or some chicken to make a complete meal. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Elizabeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Way too much onion taste! I think it really overpowered the soup. I would make it again but only use just a leek rather than both leek and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Love Love Love it. I made this three times this summer and that is unusual for me. My daughter started making it too. Thanks LuvMyFamily. I couldn't believe I forgot to rate this earlier this summer. I had some extra cooked carrots and threw them in with the soup too. I swear I can see better every time I eat this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWENSONL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Delicious!! I have to admit (I know some people hate it when people change the recipe, but whatever) that I changed the recipe some. I had a leftover butternut squash/leek/tofu gratin that I needed to use up. But basically I stuck to the original recipe EXCEPT for using sweet potatoes instead of regular potatoes. It was quite possibly one of the best soups I've ever eaten. The spices are spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States