Spiced Butternut Squash Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
This was a great recipe. My first grade food science students made it. Due to what i had on hand we made a few substitutions. We used acorn instead of butternut squash. also i mixed cinnimon, ginger, and nutmeg instead of pumpkin pie spice. Next time I make it i will bake instead of boil squash. The skins come off easier and you retain a higher nutritional value.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
Just one word - delicious! I read through all these reviews prior to making these muffins - I thought it would be a novel way to use up our squash! I baked the squash for an hour, then cooled it. I used half wheat, half white flour. And since I doubled the recipe (too much squash), I ended up using 4 cups of squash and doubled everything else. Since my muffins were bigger, it took between 20 and 25 minutes to finish cooking the muffins. They're moist and slightly sweet - perfect for me since I'm not a huge fan of really sweet muffins. I'm not sure what went wrong for the person who wrote the negative review, but I think baking the squash definitely helped, and realize that for 12 muffins, use 1 cup of squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gecko1
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
These are really good if you cut them in half, toast, and lightly butter. Then they are better than donuts and way healthier! I made them in paper muffin-cups and they stuck to the paper, so use metal muffin-tins. If you remove the muffins from their papers directly after removing them from the oven, the papers might not stick so much. Good for Thanksgiving dinner, but even more delectable as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gecko1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I used 1 cup of squash, and since I didn't have pumpkin pie spice, I used cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cloves, and allspice, as other reviewers mentioned. Very good! The kids loved them, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
i think this recipe was spicy all my familly loved it as well as me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
We thoroughly enjoyed the muffins. Ate them all before they had a chance to cool. I went at it this way . . . 8 oz. equals a half pound so I used 1 cup of blended squash and they were just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
These muffins were a tasty way to use up some baked leftover squash. I just mashed it instead of pureeing it. The recipe made 30 mini muffins, which took 12 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
Mmmmmmuffins! Yummy! My husband, who is not a "weird muffin" kinda guy, devoured three of these after they came out of the oven, and thanked me for the nice change from our typical squash soup recipe. This is a dense, moist muffin recipe, and the result will disappear quickly from your table! My 8-month old son also loved them ... they're not too strong tasting, and very healthy. The tip for 1/2 lb of squash = 1 cup from one of the reviewers was very helpful - thanks! I also substituted half of the white flour with whole wheat (which likely contributed to the density of the muffins), and added 1/2 tsp of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
My whole family liked these muffins. I used one reviewer's suggestion and added some nuts (toasted pecans) and a pinch of brown sugar. Thanks for a new way to use up our butternut squash this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
Yummy!! How easy to make! They are very sweet. Mine came out extremely moist-- I think I used closer to 1 lb of squash (twice the amt.). I also did half and half whole wheat flour and all-purpose b/c I love whole wheat recipes. I baked the squash instead of boiling it. My 18-mo-old LOVES them!! He shrieks over them--I'm afraid he's reacting to the sugar. (The most he gets at one time is in graham crackers). I'm looking forward to trying acorn squash next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMBLEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States