Spiced Butternut Squash Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Butternut just doesn't stand up to baking. The flavor is totally lost. I made these with half white and half whole wheat flour, as I normally do for muffins and quick breads. The spice was at a good level for a muffin, but that's all they tasted like were spiced muffins. The centers also were still kind of gummy, even though the edges were starting to blacken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petroleum, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
These were tasty but didn't turn out exactly as I thought. They were nice and brown on the outside by gummy and dense on the inside which made them seem kinda uncooked in the middle. I'm not much of a baker but I *think* I followed the recipe to the letter. This recipe is worth a try if you have Butternut Squash hanging around that needs to be used up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMILYFONTES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This recipe didn't work out for me either, I had a full pound of squash guts from jack o'lanterns, not so much cubed flesh, but calculated the necessary conversions. The result turned out too moist, dense and stuck to muffin cup papers. A bit too bitter too, in my opinion. Possibly trouble with the amount of squash and/or baking times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I was very excited about this recipe. What a let down. First, a 1/2 Lb isn't very clear because it's the amount you get out of it when your done & I'm sure it varies depending on the cook & the squash. Second, this made 24 servings. Third, the batter was like soup. Fourth, even cooking 10 min. longer than the first 12, the muffins are super sticky & don't have a nice done fluffy finish, they are heavy & wet. Fifth, they have hardly any flavor to speak of! I was expecting a spicy Fall muffin. The only nice thing was my house smelled wonderful! Go figure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen-Nay

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I took another reviewers advice and used applesauce instead of butter. I should have stuck with the butter. It only calls for 1 tbs anyways. The taste was just ok though. I think a topping would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Petoskey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This was my first experience ever with butternut squash. These were much better than I expected. They had the taste and, somewhat, the texture of pumpkin pie. I made a crumble topping using brown sugar, butter and flour and it really added some nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Selma, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
My whole family liked these muffins. I used one reviewer's suggestion and added some nuts (toasted pecans) and a pinch of brown sugar. Thanks for a new way to use up our butternut squash this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I used the base of this recipe with many reommendations of the reviewers. Thank you for the 1 cup squash per dozen muffins. I also added 1/3 cup walnuts to the batter. I liked how that broke up the texture of the muffin. I also added a crumb topping that made the muffin- it would have gotten less stars without it! Per dozen muffins: 1/4c flour, 1/4c brown sugar, 2T butter, and I added a few walnuts to the topping as well. I did use up my frozen suash which was a bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dizziepixie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I used 1 cup of squash, and since I didn't have pumpkin pie spice, I used cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cloves, and allspice, as other reviewers mentioned. Very good! The kids loved them, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Myself, my husband and the 3 kids all enjoyed these muffins. The only reason I didn't give them 5 stars is because I felt they could use a little more flavor. I will definitely try adding more next time I bake them. I love that they are low in fat and calories, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States