Spiced Butternut Squash Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I was very excited about this recipe. What a let down. First, a 1/2 Lb isn't very clear because it's the amount you get out of it when your done & I'm sure it varies depending on the cook & the squash. Second, this made 24 servings. Third, the batter was like soup. Fourth, even cooking 10 min. longer than the first 12, the muffins are super sticky & don't have a nice done fluffy finish, they are heavy & wet. Fifth, they have hardly any flavor to speak of! I was expecting a spicy Fall muffin. The only nice thing was my house smelled wonderful! Go figure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen-Nay

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I took another reviewers advice and used applesauce instead of butter. I should have stuck with the butter. It only calls for 1 tbs anyways. The taste was just ok though. I think a topping would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Petoskey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This was my first experience ever with butternut squash. These were much better than I expected. They had the taste and, somewhat, the texture of pumpkin pie. I made a crumble topping using brown sugar, butter and flour and it really added some nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Selma, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
My whole family liked these muffins. I used one reviewer's suggestion and added some nuts (toasted pecans) and a pinch of brown sugar. Thanks for a new way to use up our butternut squash this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I used the base of this recipe with many reommendations of the reviewers. Thank you for the 1 cup squash per dozen muffins. I also added 1/3 cup walnuts to the batter. I liked how that broke up the texture of the muffin. I also added a crumb topping that made the muffin- it would have gotten less stars without it! Per dozen muffins: 1/4c flour, 1/4c brown sugar, 2T butter, and I added a few walnuts to the topping as well. I did use up my frozen suash which was a bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dizziepixie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I used 1 cup of squash, and since I didn't have pumpkin pie spice, I used cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cloves, and allspice, as other reviewers mentioned. Very good! The kids loved them, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Myself, my husband and the 3 kids all enjoyed these muffins. The only reason I didn't give them 5 stars is because I felt they could use a little more flavor. I will definitely try adding more next time I bake them. I love that they are low in fat and calories, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I made changes to these muffins just like I would my pumpkin muffins to make them healthier. Flour: 1 c all purpose, 1/4 c whole wheat and 1/4 c wheat germ. I don't keep pumpkin pie spice on hand so I did for spices: 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/8 tsp allspice, 1/8 tsp cloves, 1/4 tsp nutmeg. I also substituted 1/4 cup applesauce for the butter. It's easier just to make pumpkin muffins, but this gives a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
i think this recipe was spicy all my familly loved it as well as me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gecko1
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
These are really good if you cut them in half, toast, and lightly butter. Then they are better than donuts and way healthier! I made them in paper muffin-cups and they stuck to the paper, so use metal muffin-tins. If you remove the muffins from their papers directly after removing them from the oven, the papers might not stick so much. Good for Thanksgiving dinner, but even more delectable as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gecko1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States