Spiced Butternut Squash Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
These are yummy. -I used a whole butternut squash, peeled, seeded and cubed, tossed with olive oil and a little salt, and roasted at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes. This brought out the flavor of the squash better than boiling would. -I substituted 3/4 c oatmeal for 1/2 c flour for some more nutritional value and bite. -I added 1T grated ginger to the squash. -I sprinkled slivered almonds on top before baking. -I only used cinnamon in the absence of the other spices. Next time I make these I will: -make a ginger cream cheese icing (though not a very sweet one) -spray my muffin cups with baking spray before baking -think about including raisins and nuts in the batter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This recipe is excellent! I have a new love for squash! I also left half of the muffins plain, while the others I made a homemade cream cheese frosting. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
DO NOT USE PAPER CUPS! So I made this exactly to the recipe (except for the cups..oops) and they didn't turn out very good. They were not very sweet and were doughy in the middle.. So I modified my second batch and added a little more sugar (maybe about 1/4 cup) and about 1/4 teaspoon baking soda to make them more fluffy. I also used a greased pan instead :-) Much better the second go-around. I will probably look for a different recipe the next time I want butternut muffins. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Good muffin! Made a half batch to go with the southwest beef stew & apple cider that my bf and I had for dinner. I liked the muffins more than the stew : ) My bf didn't care for these, but he doesn't like muffins very much (or squash, pumpkin, etc.). Well, at least he tried one.... I had no problems with my muffins being "mushy" and they stuck just a little to my greased muffin liners. I baked a peeled butternut squash (cut in half lengthwise, seeds and fibers removed) in the microwave for about 4 min. cut side down, then 5.5 min. turned over. Mashed with a fork and added a 1/2 c. to the batter. Because I had some egg substitute I needed to use up, I ended up subbing 1/8 c (= to 1/2 large egg) for the egg called for. Perfect!!! I can't wait to have the two remaining muffins (slathered with butter of course!) for breakfast! Thanks for sharing. I LOVE fall foods :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
These are fantastic!! I had half a roasted butternut squash sitting in my fridge for a week and I wanted to use it before it went bad, so I made these, and I'm so glad I did. They are delicious! Moist and flavorful. I didn't have pumpkin pie spice so I used a heaping 1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves, 1/2 teaspoon allspice, and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. I will be making these alot this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
great recipe! I added milled flax seed & use whole grain flour & it was so healthy & delicious! Not too sweet, but nice for a healthnut's treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by victoria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
We thoroughly enjoyed the muffins. Ate them all before they had a chance to cool. I went at it this way . . . 8 oz. equals a half pound so I used 1 cup of blended squash and they were just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Butternut just doesn't stand up to baking. The flavor is totally lost. I made these with half white and half whole wheat flour, as I normally do for muffins and quick breads. The spice was at a good level for a muffin, but that's all they tasted like were spiced muffins. The centers also were still kind of gummy, even though the edges were starting to blacken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petroleum, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
These were tasty but didn't turn out exactly as I thought. They were nice and brown on the outside by gummy and dense on the inside which made them seem kinda uncooked in the middle. I'm not much of a baker but I *think* I followed the recipe to the letter. This recipe is worth a try if you have Butternut Squash hanging around that needs to be used up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMILYFONTES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This recipe didn't work out for me either, I had a full pound of squash guts from jack o'lanterns, not so much cubed flesh, but calculated the necessary conversions. The result turned out too moist, dense and stuck to muffin cup papers. A bit too bitter too, in my opinion. Possibly trouble with the amount of squash and/or baking times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Watch how to make this easy side dish of oven-baked butternut squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States