Spiced Butternut Squash Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I used Mdinsmore's revisions, but did not have wheat germ, so I used flax seed meal instead to rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Pretty good. I followed other reviewer's suggestions and used 1c previously baked squash. I also healthified it by adding 1/3c roasted punpkin seeds, 1/3c chopped walnuts and 1/3c rasins. I swapped out 1 cup of white flour for 3/4c whole wheat flour and 1/4c flaxseed meal. I used half the sugar and added 1/3c honey. I MEANT to use oil instead of butter but wound up forgetting to put it in alltogether, although it still turned out pretty well. I think it would have come out of the papers better with the oil though, so next time I'll try not to forget. Like my new recipe? LOL! I love the oops review of the SOUP! HAHAHA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLOWSCHNELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Living In: New Sarepta, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
made these, this morning & they're good but as a personal preference,they need to have more spice to them,but gave them 5 stars,because I'd never have thought to use butternut squash in a muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
These are very good and healthy-tasting (in a good way)! I used shredded squash and the alternative listed previously for the pumpkin pie spice. Quite tasty. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I just made these and I think they're awesome! I followed the proportions almost exactly (I weighed my pre boiled squash, it was 1/2 lb). I did make one tiny mistake and only use 1/4 cup milk instead of 3/4. Otherwise, all the same. I didn't food process my squash, I just drained it, added it to the egg/milk/butter and mashed it with a fork. I added a crumble topping made form 1/2 oz pecans (9 halves), 3 tbsp brown sugar, 1 1/2 tbsp flour, and 1 tbsp butter. This was just enough not to add too many calories to each muffin, but gave it that sweet flavor boost. Also, I think mashing the squash instead of pureeing left more of the squashy flavor intact. All in all, I think they're awesome this way. Oh, also, I made 15 instead of 12, which I calculated from my ingredients to mean they're only 100 calories a muffin with 3 grams of fat! Hooray for muffins! Oh, and since they were a little smaller, I didn't bake 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I followed the advice of one of the reviewers and used a cup of squash (because I had a bunch left over in the fridge!). I got a lot of batter, enough to fill the muffin cups about 3/4th full, but the muffins turned out really nice. I may have baked them 5 or 10 minutes longer, though, because they really collapsed when I got them out of the oven. Nevertheless, they were delicious and I love that they use little oil or sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Very good recipe. I have to admit to eyeballing the amount of squash, used about one and three quarter cup of squash, slightly less sugar than asked for and added a banana to sweeten the deal. Also didn't have pumpkin spice but added clove, nutmeg, allspice and cinnamon, all in varying amounts. I don't tend to stick to recipes and at the moment couldn't find measuring spoon so eyeballed all of it. Muffins were moist and outside of wanting to add a little texture was pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I used left over acorn squash. This was a GREAT and delicious recipe with a little change added. I used 1/2c sugar and 1/4c of brown sugar, added 1/4t of baking soda. I did not have the spices available, so I used Chinese 5-Spice. Lo n' behold, IT WORKED! I had baked the muffins at 375 degrees for 30 minutes. This is not a light and fluffy muffin. It is mushy on the inside when it comes right out of the oven, but when it cools it becomes dense and regular type muffin inside. When I make and have left over squash, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Very easy and good..could use a little something, but easy nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Izzy Shores

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This is an excellent recipe. I used 1 cup butternut squash (frozen cooked squash is quick and easy - just heat it up and mix it in). I used 3/4 c. white flour and 3/4 c. whole wheat graham flour; 1/4 c. white sugar and 1/4 c. brown sugar. I used the previous suggestion to bake in the metal muffin pan not paper cups. I baked them in a 350 degree oven for about 17 min. They turned out beautiful: lightly browned and a little crisp on the bottom outside and nice and light and fluffy on the inside. Great texture. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States