Spiced Butternut Squash Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I used the base of this recipe with many reommendations of the reviewers. Thank you for the 1 cup squash per dozen muffins. I also added 1/3 cup walnuts to the batter. I liked how that broke up the texture of the muffin. I also added a crumb topping that made the muffin- it would have gotten less stars without it! Per dozen muffins: 1/4c flour, 1/4c brown sugar, 2T butter, and I added a few walnuts to the topping as well. I did use up my frozen suash which was a bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dizziepixie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I used 1 cup of squash, and since I didn't have pumpkin pie spice, I used cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cloves, and allspice, as other reviewers mentioned. Very good! The kids loved them, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Myself, my husband and the 3 kids all enjoyed these muffins. The only reason I didn't give them 5 stars is because I felt they could use a little more flavor. I will definitely try adding more next time I bake them. I love that they are low in fat and calories, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I made changes to these muffins just like I would my pumpkin muffins to make them healthier. Flour: 1 c all purpose, 1/4 c whole wheat and 1/4 c wheat germ. I don't keep pumpkin pie spice on hand so I did for spices: 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/8 tsp allspice, 1/8 tsp cloves, 1/4 tsp nutmeg. I also substituted 1/4 cup applesauce for the butter. It's easier just to make pumpkin muffins, but this gives a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Dinsmore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
i think this recipe was spicy all my familly loved it as well as me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gecko1
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
These are really good if you cut them in half, toast, and lightly butter. Then they are better than donuts and way healthier! I made them in paper muffin-cups and they stuck to the paper, so use metal muffin-tins. If you remove the muffins from their papers directly after removing them from the oven, the papers might not stick so much. Good for Thanksgiving dinner, but even more delectable as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gecko1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
Mmm.. i thought the recipes was okay. I love butternut squash a lot, but this recipes didnt bring out the flavor at all. I felt like i was eatting a soggy spice muffin. I probably wont make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
I've made almost the exact recipe before and it's really excellent! You can mix some light brown sugar, margarine, and crushed pecans, and place it on top of the muffin before baking. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
I didn't have cayenne pepper, and used paprika instead and left out the cloves! What an AWESOME soup!!!!! Absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
I found this recipe to be the best of any other squash muffin recipe I've tried but they still looked a little doughy on the inside but tasted great. I added 2/3 cups of raisins and a 1/2 tsp. of vanilla. Everyone who tried them said they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States