Spiced Butternut Squash Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I made changes to these muffins just like I would my pumpkin muffins to make them healthier. Flour: 1 c all purpose, 1/4 c whole wheat and 1/4 c wheat germ. I don't keep pumpkin pie spice on hand so I did for spices: 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/8 tsp allspice, 1/8 tsp cloves, 1/4 tsp nutmeg. I also substituted 1/4 cup applesauce for the butter. It's easier just to make pumpkin muffins, but this gives a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Dinsmore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
i think this recipe was spicy all my familly loved it as well as me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gecko1
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
These are really good if you cut them in half, toast, and lightly butter. Then they are better than donuts and way healthier! I made them in paper muffin-cups and they stuck to the paper, so use metal muffin-tins. If you remove the muffins from their papers directly after removing them from the oven, the papers might not stick so much. Good for Thanksgiving dinner, but even more delectable as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gecko1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
Mmm.. i thought the recipes was okay. I love butternut squash a lot, but this recipes didnt bring out the flavor at all. I felt like i was eatting a soggy spice muffin. I probably wont make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
I've made almost the exact recipe before and it's really excellent! You can mix some light brown sugar, margarine, and crushed pecans, and place it on top of the muffin before baking. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
I didn't have cayenne pepper, and used paprika instead and left out the cloves! What an AWESOME soup!!!!! Absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
I found this recipe to be the best of any other squash muffin recipe I've tried but they still looked a little doughy on the inside but tasted great. I added 2/3 cups of raisins and a 1/2 tsp. of vanilla. Everyone who tried them said they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
I wouldn't say "filled with flavor" exactly, as they were a little bland. But a good way to sneak squash into a different kind of dish. We baked our squash like other reviewers recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
I made these for Thanksgiving this year, and they are really yummy! The only problem was that they were really doughy... I think maybe if I would have really only filled the cups half full and baked them for about 5 minutes longer they would have been great. Watch out when you're making them though, they may look done but they're probably still really doughy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
These are fairly good--however, lacking pumpkin pie spice, I decided to get creative and use cinnamon, nutmeg, a bit of clove, and a bit of allspice. The clove and allspice did not work well in the recipe, but thankfully I didn't put very much in. Learn from my mistake and refrain from attempting to add these spices. These are excellent with a bit of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States