Spiced Butternut Squash Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
Mmm.. i thought the recipes was okay. I love butternut squash a lot, but this recipes didnt bring out the flavor at all. I felt like i was eatting a soggy spice muffin. I probably wont make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
I've made almost the exact recipe before and it's really excellent! You can mix some light brown sugar, margarine, and crushed pecans, and place it on top of the muffin before baking. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
I didn't have cayenne pepper, and used paprika instead and left out the cloves! What an AWESOME soup!!!!! Absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
I found this recipe to be the best of any other squash muffin recipe I've tried but they still looked a little doughy on the inside but tasted great. I added 2/3 cups of raisins and a 1/2 tsp. of vanilla. Everyone who tried them said they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
I wouldn't say "filled with flavor" exactly, as they were a little bland. But a good way to sneak squash into a different kind of dish. We baked our squash like other reviewers recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
I made these for Thanksgiving this year, and they are really yummy! The only problem was that they were really doughy... I think maybe if I would have really only filled the cups half full and baked them for about 5 minutes longer they would have been great. Watch out when you're making them though, they may look done but they're probably still really doughy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
These are fairly good--however, lacking pumpkin pie spice, I decided to get creative and use cinnamon, nutmeg, a bit of clove, and a bit of allspice. The clove and allspice did not work well in the recipe, but thankfully I didn't put very much in. Learn from my mistake and refrain from attempting to add these spices. These are excellent with a bit of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
I was not very impressed. These were tasty, but not as flavorful as I would have hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
These are a wonderful way to use up leftover baked squash! Thanks to the reviewer who suggested 1 cup of squash. I sprinkled some brown sugar on top of a few muffins before baking. They were good with or without. I also substituted olive oil for the melted butter with success. I might add a bit of cinnamon or a little more pumpkin pie spice next time because the first bite or two were a little too squashy for me. Still, a nice addition to my collection of muffin recipes and it was a winner with my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
I made these muffins and both myself and my huband loved them. I used nutmeg, cinnamon and ginger instead of a pumpkin pie spice mix. Also, I think I may have had more squash, so the baking time needed to be a bit longer than 20 minutes because they were still mushy inside. But, I really like these muffins, and I would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Watch how to make this easy side dish of oven-baked butternut squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States