Spiced Butternut Squash Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
These are really good and seem pretty healthy. I had some leftover baked squash that I used (about 3/4 of a squash) and just mashed it in with everything else. I followed the recipe exactly except added a teaspoon of vanilla and a diced green apple. I think it would be good without the apple too; I might add some more nuts than are called for next time because I like the crunch. This recipe made 25 muffins for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Yummy! Followed recipe exactly, using 1 cup of cooked squash as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
These came out way too gooey and doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
no complaints here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
A bit disappointing. They taste good... but I don't like the texture. They're heavy and dry. And they stick to the muffin liners. I think 400F is too high. I cooked a pound of squash (I doubled the recipe) in a steamer so the puree was not too much liquid. I should have double the amount of butter and cut down on the milk. I added a spoon of honey and one cup of nuts. Next time for a 9'' bread form, I'll rather start with 3 spoons of butter + 2 eggs + 1c sugar. Then add squash puree(500g uncooked) and nuts and honey. And alternately add mixed dry ingredients and 1 cup of milk. Bake at 350°c for 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Generaldine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I followed the directions, even weighing the squash and they came out really good. I used mini muffin pans. I'm thinking some kind of cream cheese frosting would make them heavenly:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I loved them! This was my first time a butternut squash and i ended up with 3 cups of squash and took advice of another review and doubled everything else. I did add about 3 tbs of brown sugar. Cooked for 20 minutes. This made 24 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This is a good recipe (except for the problem with how the amount of squash is listed--after reading reviews and a few other squash muffin recipes I used 3/4 cup of cooked, pureed acorn squash). I did tweak it for my family's tastes. I used Eggbeaters in place of the egg which worked fine. I also added a chopped Granny Smith apple. I think it would have been too strong of a squash taste for me without that but I really liked the apple and squash combo. That's a personal preference but if you really like the taste of squash--the recipe is good (nice texture in my opinion). I also used a half and half combination of cinnamon and nutmeg instead of the pumpkin pie spice (just wanted a different spice since we had a pumpkin pie recently). I made a glaze using apple juice and powdered sugar which was very good with the muffins and will likely entice my child to try them. :) I'm not sure "squash muffins" sounds good even to me....but I needed to use some and this turned out really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I thought these were really good! I substituted whole wheat flour for white (to make them a bit healthier) and brown sugar for the white (just my preference). I had to use 1/4 cup of the milk while pureeing the squash (I just added the remaining 1/2 cup to the mixture when it called for it). The muffins turned out really good, and are not overly sweet. I frosted them with some homemade cream cheese frosting to make cupcakes for my daughter's kindergarten class. I hope they all like them, so I can tell them afterward that they were made with a vegetable!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I tried this recipe. Only one reviewer talked about the doughy turn out of muffins. I ended up baking them about 45 minutes and muffin insides stayed like the inside of a churro but a little more moist. The flavors are good, I'd make it again but without the milk. I used mashed squash, and it was plenty moist without using the milk or only 1/4 cup milk. 3/4 is TOO MUCH. I realized cooking with butternut squash is very much like cooking with sweet potatoes, you really don't need any additional liquids, the vegetable alone is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States