Spiced Butternut Squash Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Very good recipe. I have to admit to eyeballing the amount of squash, used about one and three quarter cup of squash, slightly less sugar than asked for and added a banana to sweeten the deal. Also didn't have pumpkin spice but added clove, nutmeg, allspice and cinnamon, all in varying amounts. I don't tend to stick to recipes and at the moment couldn't find measuring spoon so eyeballed all of it. Muffins were moist and outside of wanting to add a little texture was pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I used left over acorn squash. This was a GREAT and delicious recipe with a little change added. I used 1/2c sugar and 1/4c of brown sugar, added 1/4t of baking soda. I did not have the spices available, so I used Chinese 5-Spice. Lo n' behold, IT WORKED! I had baked the muffins at 375 degrees for 30 minutes. This is not a light and fluffy muffin. It is mushy on the inside when it comes right out of the oven, but when it cools it becomes dense and regular type muffin inside. When I make and have left over squash, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Very easy and good..could use a little something, but easy nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Izzy Shores

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This is an excellent recipe. I used 1 cup butternut squash (frozen cooked squash is quick and easy - just heat it up and mix it in). I used 3/4 c. white flour and 3/4 c. whole wheat graham flour; 1/4 c. white sugar and 1/4 c. brown sugar. I used the previous suggestion to bake in the metal muffin pan not paper cups. I baked them in a 350 degree oven for about 17 min. They turned out beautiful: lightly browned and a little crisp on the bottom outside and nice and light and fluffy on the inside. Great texture. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
These tasted ok, and I like that they're low in fat and sugar... but the texture is kind of gummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athol, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
These were great! I had some butternut squash leftover from Thanksgiving, so I decided to try this recipe, and I'm so glad I did! I followed the directions exactly, but I did drizzle a very easy icing over the tops once they were cool (1 cup of confectioners sugar mixed with 2 tablespoons of milk and 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla). The icing was perfect with them, since the muffins aren't overly sweet. My whole family really enjoyed them! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
My kids *love* these muffins! I use 1 cup of squash per 12 muffins and carefully monitor cooking time. I needed to add 5 minutes for my oven. I always test with a toothpick. The first batch was gummy but then I adjusted the cooking time and voila! perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
These are yummy. -I used a whole butternut squash, peeled, seeded and cubed, tossed with olive oil and a little salt, and roasted at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes. This brought out the flavor of the squash better than boiling would. -I substituted 3/4 c oatmeal for 1/2 c flour for some more nutritional value and bite. -I added 1T grated ginger to the squash. -I sprinkled slivered almonds on top before baking. -I only used cinnamon in the absence of the other spices. Next time I make these I will: -make a ginger cream cheese icing (though not a very sweet one) -spray my muffin cups with baking spray before baking -think about including raisins and nuts in the batter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This recipe is excellent! I have a new love for squash! I also left half of the muffins plain, while the others I made a homemade cream cheese frosting. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
DO NOT USE PAPER CUPS! So I made this exactly to the recipe (except for the cups..oops) and they didn't turn out very good. They were not very sweet and were doughy in the middle.. So I modified my second batch and added a little more sugar (maybe about 1/4 cup) and about 1/4 teaspoon baking soda to make them more fluffy. I also used a greased pan instead :-) Much better the second go-around. I will probably look for a different recipe the next time I want butternut muffins. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States