Spiced Butternut Squash Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I think I did something wrong. First I doubled the recipe and I definately cooked them too long. The muffins were very compact and doughy. However, I gave this recipe 3 stars because even though they were doughy they had a really good flavor. I will probably try this recipe again just to make sure I didn't screw it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I made this recipe for the first time last week and got rave reports. It was my first meeting with butternutt squash too. They were great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I just made these muffins and found out they do have a tendency to be a litle too moist inside and you need to bake them a little longer. BUT I tried using my mimi muffin pans and they worked out great. Baked them for 20 minutes and totally done. They are bite sized, if the bigger ones are just a little too much. My husband even thought they would be better smaller. If you really like them, then you can have two or 3. They are great a great size for the kids too. I added raisins to mine and a teaspoon of nutmeg to give it a little zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I used Mdinsmore's revisions, but did not have wheat germ, so I used flax seed meal instead to rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Pretty good. I followed other reviewer's suggestions and used 1c previously baked squash. I also healthified it by adding 1/3c roasted punpkin seeds, 1/3c chopped walnuts and 1/3c rasins. I swapped out 1 cup of white flour for 3/4c whole wheat flour and 1/4c flaxseed meal. I used half the sugar and added 1/3c honey. I MEANT to use oil instead of butter but wound up forgetting to put it in alltogether, although it still turned out pretty well. I think it would have come out of the papers better with the oil though, so next time I'll try not to forget. Like my new recipe? LOL! I love the oops review of the SOUP! HAHAHA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLOWSCHNELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Living In: New Sarepta, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
made these, this morning & they're good but as a personal preference,they need to have more spice to them,but gave them 5 stars,because I'd never have thought to use butternut squash in a muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
These are very good and healthy-tasting (in a good way)! I used shredded squash and the alternative listed previously for the pumpkin pie spice. Quite tasty. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I just made these and I think they're awesome! I followed the proportions almost exactly (I weighed my pre boiled squash, it was 1/2 lb). I did make one tiny mistake and only use 1/4 cup milk instead of 3/4. Otherwise, all the same. I didn't food process my squash, I just drained it, added it to the egg/milk/butter and mashed it with a fork. I added a crumble topping made form 1/2 oz pecans (9 halves), 3 tbsp brown sugar, 1 1/2 tbsp flour, and 1 tbsp butter. This was just enough not to add too many calories to each muffin, but gave it that sweet flavor boost. Also, I think mashing the squash instead of pureeing left more of the squashy flavor intact. All in all, I think they're awesome this way. Oh, also, I made 15 instead of 12, which I calculated from my ingredients to mean they're only 100 calories a muffin with 3 grams of fat! Hooray for muffins! Oh, and since they were a little smaller, I didn't bake 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I followed the advice of one of the reviewers and used a cup of squash (because I had a bunch left over in the fridge!). I got a lot of batter, enough to fill the muffin cups about 3/4th full, but the muffins turned out really nice. I may have baked them 5 or 10 minutes longer, though, because they really collapsed when I got them out of the oven. Nevertheless, they were delicious and I love that they use little oil or sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Very good recipe. I have to admit to eyeballing the amount of squash, used about one and three quarter cup of squash, slightly less sugar than asked for and added a banana to sweeten the deal. Also didn't have pumpkin spice but added clove, nutmeg, allspice and cinnamon, all in varying amounts. I don't tend to stick to recipes and at the moment couldn't find measuring spoon so eyeballed all of it. Muffins were moist and outside of wanting to add a little texture was pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States