Spiced Butternut Squash Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
The flavor was very good, but I wish I'd been able to get a smoother puree. I added chocolate chips on top. Yum! However, the muffins stuck to the papers very badly. It seemed like about half of the muffin was permanently adhered to the paper. (I used a kitchen scale for my muffins, too, and half a pound was about 2 cups of cubes, 3/4 c puree.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I made these twice, because I really wanted them to work, but both times they were spongy and gluey in the center. The flavor is wonderful, enough so you want to eat them even tho the texture is not right. I weighed and measured very carefully the second time so I don't knowwhat went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
These came out really good, but doughy in the center even after I baked them for a few extra minutes. They're just the right amount of sweetness and adding some extra cinnamon makes them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
My kids and I loved these muffins! I got a ton of butternut squash from my co-op this fall, cooked and froze it. None of us liked it in the traditional squash soup, so this was a great way to use up our squash and make healthy muffins. I used 1 c. squash and 100% whole wheat flour, and they turned out great. I added raisins to one batch and that was fantastic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Awesome! My husband doesn't even like squash and he loves these! Next time I have to take muffins somewhere, I am going to make these. I may try them with pumpkin instead of squash though just because my husband loves pumpkin so much. Thanks for posting this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifenmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
The recipe was good but I added brown sugar instead of white, Vanilla extract and applesauce to add moisture. The squash really needs to be blended well because it can be stringy in the muffins. For a added treat add just a few dark chocolate chips to the top, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Gooey. Followed the recipe exactly but unfortunately I did not care for this recipe. Made the kitchen smell good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I'm working on a small food budget this week and I used a cup of cooked squash in my freezer that I cooked and froze a month or so ago so this recipe was perfect for me. I used whole wheat white flour, homemade pumpkin pie spice, lowfat buttermilk and at the last minute, I threw in half a bag of Hershey's cinnamon chips that I found in my freezer. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract. This came together quickly and used up ingredients I had on hand to come up with snacks/breakfasts for the next couple days which I appreciated......plus they're quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
good way to use up butternut squash! followed recipe exactly except i skipped the salt and added 1/2 tsp. baking soda and added some cinnamon on top of the pumpkin pie spice...came out light and fluffy :) only complaint is mine almost had an eggy flavored after note...maybe more cinnamon next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Cristina E*

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hilmar, California, USA
Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Although these muffins do have a good flavor, there is something wrong with the texture. No matter how long I baked them, they were "doughy," as other reviewers mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States