Spiced Butternut Squash Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Gooey. Followed the recipe exactly but unfortunately I did not care for this recipe. Made the kitchen smell good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I'm working on a small food budget this week and I used a cup of cooked squash in my freezer that I cooked and froze a month or so ago so this recipe was perfect for me. I used whole wheat white flour, homemade pumpkin pie spice, lowfat buttermilk and at the last minute, I threw in half a bag of Hershey's cinnamon chips that I found in my freezer. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract. This came together quickly and used up ingredients I had on hand to come up with snacks/breakfasts for the next couple days which I appreciated......plus they're quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
good way to use up butternut squash! followed recipe exactly except i skipped the salt and added 1/2 tsp. baking soda and added some cinnamon on top of the pumpkin pie spice...came out light and fluffy :) only complaint is mine almost had an eggy flavored after note...maybe more cinnamon next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Cristina E*

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hilmar, California, USA
Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Although these muffins do have a good flavor, there is something wrong with the texture. No matter how long I baked them, they were "doughy," as other reviewers mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was my first time using butternut squash. Not sure how I would like the flavor, this seemed like a fairly safe and easy recipe to undertake. I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of using a mixture of cinnamon, cloves, allspice, and ginger instead of the pumpkin pie spices. My Dad ended up loving them! The flavor was fantastic. The end product didn't turn out quite as I had expected (the muffin got a little firm/tough on the outside). I will definitely try this recipe again, and try to add more squash (as I think it may have needed it to make it more moist.) Also, a word to the wise, my squash cooked extremely fast so be sure to keep a close eye on it. And the muffins take a little longer to cook than suggested, so be sure to check them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
A good use for leftover squash after the holiday meal. I doubled the ingredients and used 4 cups of cubed butternut squash. I didn't have enough flour on hand, so 1 cup was actually flax seed meal...which surprisingly resulted in a pretty tasty muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Bowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Great and creative way to use up extra squash!! I did use 1 cup whole wheat and 1/2 cup AP flour and about 1/4 cup white sugar. Since I had a lot of squash, I had closer to 1 1/4 cups. Went great with my veggie soup, but the true sign of approval came from my picky-eater friend who had 3 of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
These are so delicious! My sister thinks it's as good as pumpkin bread, and the little 3 year-old next door can't eat them fast enough! A little time consuming, but next time I'm making a triple batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss_Bodyworker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe! I had some roasted butternut squash and just used that instead of the chopping and boiling method. The muffins are incredibly moist, full of flavor and everyone loves them. Brought them to my daughters elementary school and they were gone in a flash. A real child and adult pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darla

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Yummy! I baked my squash for an hour, scooped out the innards, and pureed it. I used a cup of it for this recipe. I followed the recipe to a T, except for adding a little extra cloves and nutmeg! Oh, and I also added mini chocolate chips! =] I mixed slightly too much the first time and they were kind of tough, but the second time I mixed 'em til just barely moistened and they came out perfect! Will be making these all winter. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by california721

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States