Spiced Butternut Squash Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I tried this recipe. Only one reviewer talked about the doughy turn out of muffins. I ended up baking them about 45 minutes and muffin insides stayed like the inside of a churro but a little more moist. The flavors are good, I'd make it again but without the milk. I used mashed squash, and it was plenty moist without using the milk or only 1/4 cup milk. 3/4 is TOO MUCH. I realized cooking with butternut squash is very much like cooking with sweet potatoes, you really don't need any additional liquids, the vegetable alone is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Pretty good. The current ingredients need to be doubled and use 4 cups squash (whole butternut). I did half brown & half white sugar and added extra nutmeg. This would also taste yummy as a dessert with cream cheese frosting, or plain with chocolate chips and/or nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I had way too much squash to know what to do with until I stumbled upon this fantastic recipe!! I followed the recipe to a T until the very last second! After I put the batter into the muffin pan, I feared that these muffins would not do anything for me unless I added a sprinkle of brown sugar on top! I'm glad I did!! It gave just a little tiny crunch to every bite and made them a tad bit sweeter! Next time I think I'll add a chopped apple just for fun :-) Thanks for sharing this DELICIOUS recipe!! I look forward to having extra squash the next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homestyle Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Mmmm....Light and fluffy these muffins were perfect and so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I totally veganized this recipe....and I had started making it when I began ro read reviews and then promptly doubled my recipe when I realized that the whole butternut squash I had boiling was gonna be way too much for the recipe as is, I also added some vanilla extract, used vanilla flavored almond milk, cornstarch to replace eggs, and unsweetened applesauce instead of the oil or was it butter that the recipe called for...anyway baked them for about twenty five minutes or so on 400 degrees and some of them were still a little mushy and chewy on the inside, even though I had tested and they seemed done. I made a dozen and a half and still have alot of batter left over, to it I will add a little more sugar and a little more pumpkin pie spice and I don't have any on hand right now but in the future I will use a little butter flavor extract along with the vanilla extract....they are okay, but there is just a little bit of ummph!!! Missing. But I will make again for sure, I think it's worth it to get it just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
These muffins were delicious! Very moist and flavorful. I roasted my squash and pureed it and used 1 cup of puree and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tessa Olson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
These are a great comfort food straight out of the oven. My husband doesn't care for squash soup so I used up the leftovers this way. I added cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and allspice, plus about 1/4 cup of lowfat sour cream to keep them moist. This added about 5 minutes to the baking time, but they ended up very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
The muffins turned out too light and doughy. Not enough of something. We still ate them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Yum! These were great! Similar to pumpkin muffins, but not the same. As for the reviewer who claimed that a half pound of squash was "a lot," I'm not really sure what happened because a whole butternut squash is only about three pounds anyway. My only problem with these was that after I took them out of the oven, most of their domes sunk back down. I'm not sure what happened, so I will have to try it again and see if I can improve them! Nonetheless, they tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Delicious! Had too much butternut squash to know what to do with and stumbled across this recipe. I used applesauce instead of butter, and 2 tsp vanilla extract and a healthy sprinkle (or dump) of cinnamon. I baked in paper cups sprayed with cooking spray, and they stuck somewhat less. Very fluffy, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States