Spiced Butternut Squash Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
I was not very impressed. These were tasty, but not as flavorful as I would have hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
These are a wonderful way to use up leftover baked squash! Thanks to the reviewer who suggested 1 cup of squash. I sprinkled some brown sugar on top of a few muffins before baking. They were good with or without. I also substituted olive oil for the melted butter with success. I might add a bit of cinnamon or a little more pumpkin pie spice next time because the first bite or two were a little too squashy for me. Still, a nice addition to my collection of muffin recipes and it was a winner with my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
I made these muffins and both myself and my huband loved them. I used nutmeg, cinnamon and ginger instead of a pumpkin pie spice mix. Also, I think I may have had more squash, so the baking time needed to be a bit longer than 20 minutes because they were still mushy inside. But, I really like these muffins, and I would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
If this was not a low-fat, relatively healthy muffin, it would be getting a lower rating. But all things considered, the muffins are very moist and pretty tasty, if a little bland and low-fat tasting. I wouldn't serve these to anyone, but they're perfect to snack on around the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
Just one word - delicious! I read through all these reviews prior to making these muffins - I thought it would be a novel way to use up our squash! I baked the squash for an hour, then cooled it. I used half wheat, half white flour. And since I doubled the recipe (too much squash), I ended up using 4 cups of squash and doubled everything else. Since my muffins were bigger, it took between 20 and 25 minutes to finish cooking the muffins. They're moist and slightly sweet - perfect for me since I'm not a huge fan of really sweet muffins. I'm not sure what went wrong for the person who wrote the negative review, but I think baking the squash definitely helped, and realize that for 12 muffins, use 1 cup of squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
Mmmmmmuffins! Yummy! My husband, who is not a "weird muffin" kinda guy, devoured three of these after they came out of the oven, and thanked me for the nice change from our typical squash soup recipe. This is a dense, moist muffin recipe, and the result will disappear quickly from your table! My 8-month old son also loved them ... they're not too strong tasting, and very healthy. The tip for 1/2 lb of squash = 1 cup from one of the reviewers was very helpful - thanks! I also substituted half of the white flour with whole wheat (which likely contributed to the density of the muffins), and added 1/2 tsp of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Very good. I prefer a slightly richer muffin, but I suppose it's healthier without too much fat. Also, I found the squash flavor to be subtle and I may put in a little extra next time to make it "squash-ier". This recipe would be good with pumpkin too. To the reviewer who thought the recipe calls for too much squash: 1/2 lb is only 1 cup which shouldn't be too much..?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
Yummy!! How easy to make! They are very sweet. Mine came out extremely moist-- I think I used closer to 1 lb of squash (twice the amt.). I also did half and half whole wheat flour and all-purpose b/c I love whole wheat recipes. I baked the squash instead of boiling it. My 18-mo-old LOVES them!! He shrieks over them--I'm afraid he's reacting to the sugar. (The most he gets at one time is in graham crackers). I'm looking forward to trying acorn squash next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMBLEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
This turned out awful! I followed the recipe precisely, with no substitutes, and ended up with quite a mess. I had serious misgivings when the recipe listed a 1/2 pound of cooked squash, but I followed it anyway. A 1/2 pound is ALOT of squash!! There is no way that you could have weighed the squash. Did it just LOOK like a 1/2 pound to you? How about converting it to cups? I used a dietary scale and ended up with so much of the mixture it looked like I could have baked two or more pies, not muffins!! I ended up actually doubling the flour/sugar mixture and adding it to what was leftover and even then I baked 24 muffins. I wanted to take them to my parents for a weekend brunch, but there is no way I would serve these to anyone. I make alot of recipes that I find on Allrecipes.com, but have never rated them. This is the first time I have done this because of how poorly they turned out. Never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
This was a great recipe. My first grade food science students made it. Due to what i had on hand we made a few substitutions. We used acorn instead of butternut squash. also i mixed cinnimon, ginger, and nutmeg instead of pumpkin pie spice. Next time I make it i will bake instead of boil squash. The skins come off easier and you retain a higher nutritional value.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States