Spiced Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
As usual, Corwynn's recipe was outstanding. You're an All-Recipes superstar, Corwynn - my favorite recipe submitter! (If you haven't tried Corwynn's other recipes, head straight to her list!) Delicious, hearty dish with a complex, savory flavor; must be the combination of the thyme and the beer. To mix it up a little, I added a packet of dry onion soup and used fresh veggies (sweet potato, carrots, and celery). Since I used sweet potatoes, I did not add the brown sugar. And as much as I love butter, I decided to cut back on the saturated fat by browning the meat in a few tablespoons of olive oil instead. These changes made the stew a little healthier but still tasted rich, even decadent. This was a hit with my family, even my picky 6 year old. This is definitely our new family stew recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
This recipe was easy to fix and tasted delious. I increased the oven to 450 degrees to speed up the cooking time. I don't buy canned vegatables, so frozen vegatables work just as well. They seem to keep their firmness during cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Very good, loved the different flavor the beer gives although not too overpowering. I did add extra water, I thought it was a little too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
This recipe is so beautiful! I used olive oil instead of margarine, 1 bottle of beer (Budweiser) and I simmered everything in a covered pot for 1 1/2 hours. Added potatoes in the last half hour. I served this with steamed rice and roasted red peppers. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
It wasn't what we expected, however it wasn't terrible either, I thought it was too sweet and my husband didn't thing it was "hearty" enough. I prefer my stews to be more brothy, I like dipping rolls in the juices, but this had hardly any juice. We used a dark beer which I didn't care for too much. I have to add though that we ate the leftovers for dinner the next night and we added V8 tomato juice to it and it was definately alot better, I was able to dip my leftover rolls in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
A rich, hearty stew that I'd make again! I added 6 medium-sized red potatoes cut in fourths, 1 rib of sliced celery, and 6 sliced carrots in place of the canned veggies. Add them to the pot when you first put it in the oven or they won't cook through. I also had to add 1 T. cornstarch mixed w/1 T. water to the gravy, as it wasn't as thick as I like. Oh, and salt! It needed at least 1 tsp. salt as well as some pepper. I thought this stew was really tasty, but no one in my family raved. They all ate it, but it wasn't like "More, more, more!" Actually, it was much better the next day. In the future, I think I'll make it ahead of time and reheat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This stew has a wonderful flavor. The only changes I made were to add 2 cubed potatoes, salt, and pepper. I also cooked it on the stovetop, not in the oven. I'm not normally a big stew fan, but I'll make this often! Thanks so much for the recipe... It's the best I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This is the best stew I have ever made, and I have been making stew for 30 years. Bear in mind--it is very rich. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
The Basic stew was full of flavor. It was very easy to prepare but I added some of my favorite vegies - Corn, green beans, potatoes, cabbage. Served it with corn bread. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
Good stew. Nice consistency. The only thing I would change next time is to reduce the brown sugar slightly. I thought it was too sweet. Used a full bottle of Bud Light and thought it tasted just fine. Also, used frozen vegetables, which we didn't really care for in this recipe. We like straight potatoes and carrots. Next time, I will use this recipe and forgo the mixed veggies and put in those that I like. Corwynne always has the best soup recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States