Spiced Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
This recipe was easy to fix and tasted delious. I increased the oven to 450 degrees to speed up the cooking time. I don't buy canned vegatables, so frozen vegatables work just as well. They seem to keep their firmness during cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
The Basic stew was full of flavor. It was very easy to prepare but I added some of my favorite vegies - Corn, green beans, potatoes, cabbage. Served it with corn bread. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
My husband and I really liked this stew. Unfortunately, my sons did not. I don't use canned vegetables so used a combination of fresh & frozen and threw in some potatoes. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
I used Guiness (Ale) to give this more kick and I really loved the result...so does everyone else who eats it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
Very taste...I love to cook with beer! I was running short on time so I boiled the vegs in another pot, still turned out tasty. Added some extra garlic and also dried onion soup mix makes a good "throw in".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
Wonderful stew! I think you could skip the veggies and serve over noodles or rice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Kolbow

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I thought it was an unusual stew recipe, but my husband and daughter didn't like it. The thyme overpowers all other flavors in the recipe. I thought it was okay over noodles. The sauce has a wonderful, thick consistency and the onions are a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
This is a great quick and easy stew. Everyone, even the kids, loved it! It also is great for getting rid of leftovers. I threw in left over roasted potatos and carrots, and I used the onion soup mix. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Edgewater, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
This is an awesome recipe. I know it as "Beef and Beer", though! I have been making this recipe for years for my family. It has a lot of flavor and great gravy. The only suggestion I have is after trying several different kinds of beer with it, I like Sam Adams the best because it makes the best flavored gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Excellent! I sprayed pot with no fat cooking spray instead of margarine and cooked lean stew meat. I used Natural Light beer. I sprinkled 1/4 cup of flour, stirred as I sprinkled so it would not get chunky. Covered pot and cooked on a low setting for 1 and 1/2 hours on stove top. The pot I used has a non-stick coating. The only regret I have is that I did not make more. My 6 year old son nearly ate the whole pot of stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States