Spiced Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
wow, does this stew taste yummy! i browned the beef in butter instead of margarine, used coors beer (what i had but bet dark beer would enhance the flavor) & put in a 16 oz. bag of mixed vegetables. my house smelled absolutely wonderful while this was baking! one note: i'd say we ended up with 4 servings instead of 6 but maybe i'm thinking american proportions. thanks again corwynn, we're also fond of your delicious french beef stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Excellent! I sprayed pot with no fat cooking spray instead of margarine and cooked lean stew meat. I used Natural Light beer. I sprinkled 1/4 cup of flour, stirred as I sprinkled so it would not get chunky. Covered pot and cooked on a low setting for 1 and 1/2 hours on stove top. The pot I used has a non-stick coating. The only regret I have is that I did not make more. My 6 year old son nearly ate the whole pot of stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
This is an awesome recipe. I know it as "Beef and Beer", though! I have been making this recipe for years for my family. It has a lot of flavor and great gravy. The only suggestion I have is after trying several different kinds of beer with it, I like Sam Adams the best because it makes the best flavored gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
This is a great quick and easy stew. Everyone, even the kids, loved it! It also is great for getting rid of leftovers. I threw in left over roasted potatos and carrots, and I used the onion soup mix. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Edgewater, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I thought it was an unusual stew recipe, but my husband and daughter didn't like it. The thyme overpowers all other flavors in the recipe. I thought it was okay over noodles. The sauce has a wonderful, thick consistency and the onions are a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
Wonderful stew! I think you could skip the veggies and serve over noodles or rice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: New Haven, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
Very taste...I love to cook with beer! I was running short on time so I boiled the vegs in another pot, still turned out tasty. Added some extra garlic and also dried onion soup mix makes a good "throw in".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
I used Guiness (Ale) to give this more kick and I really loved the result...so does everyone else who eats it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
My husband and I really liked this stew. Unfortunately, my sons did not. I don't use canned vegetables so used a combination of fresh & frozen and threw in some potatoes. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
The Basic stew was full of flavor. It was very easy to prepare but I added some of my favorite vegies - Corn, green beans, potatoes, cabbage. Served it with corn bread. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States