Spiced Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Very good, loved the different flavor the beer gives although not too overpowering. I did add extra water, I thought it was a little too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This recipe makes a great stew which can be served over rice or eaten as a complete meal. I added potatoes and carrots and it tasted even better the next day. I agree with the suggestion to add water to thin the gravy. Yum, I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Gillaspie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This was great! Instead of a can of beef broth, I used 4 cups of water and 2 TBSP of beef base. I didn't have an onion so I used a packet of dry onion soup mix and also used chopped up potatoes and carrots instead of canned veggies. Almost forgot to add- I cooked this in a crockpot all day set on low. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This recipe is really, really simple and tastes and smells like you've slaved all day over the stove. The beef becomes really tender, and the gravy is incredible. I added a small can of sliced mushrooms, and served this over white rice. I'll double the batch next time .... everyone wanted seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Was actually a little scared about trying this recipe, but it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
My husband, kids and company loved this recipe, its a keeper, it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
I omitted the browning step. I put all the ingredients into the crockpot. Turned out very nicely. I used fresh carrots, potatoes, onion & celery for the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
I like real veggies in my stews so I added baby carrots, celery, and potatoes and used a whole can of beer and additional beef broth. DELICIOUS! Hubby gobbled it up as fast as I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
This recipe is so beautiful! I used olive oil instead of margarine, 1 bottle of beer (Budweiser) and I simmered everything in a covered pot for 1 1/2 hours. Added potatoes in the last half hour. I served this with steamed rice and roasted red peppers. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
this recipe turned out great! My two toddlers loved it! The only thing that I did different is add patatoes. Thanks for the great recipe. I will be making this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States