Spiced Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
So we changed the recipe a bit - crock potted it instead of the dutch oven. Instead of the mixed veggies from a can we put in potatoes and carrots, if I had corn and celery we would have done that too! The base is just soooooo good and we will definitely do it again! Oh and we spiced it up a bit with some added pepper. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
A rich, hearty stew that I'd make again! I added 6 medium-sized red potatoes cut in fourths, 1 rib of sliced celery, and 6 sliced carrots in place of the canned veggies. Add them to the pot when you first put it in the oven or they won't cook through. I also had to add 1 T. cornstarch mixed w/1 T. water to the gravy, as it wasn't as thick as I like. Oh, and salt! It needed at least 1 tsp. salt as well as some pepper. I thought this stew was really tasty, but no one in my family raved. They all ate it, but it wasn't like "More, more, more!" Actually, it was much better the next day. In the future, I think I'll make it ahead of time and reheat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I thought it was very good. It could use some more seasoning though I'm just not sure what!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
I've finally found a beef stew recipe! This was sooo good, we couldn't stop eating it. I cut back on the onion, just as a preference, but next time, will probably use the full amount. The meat had a wonderful flavor. This will become a stand-by at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
this is good...impressed myself by making it. I used Ultra light beer, potatoes, carrots, celery, and a can of peas(drained). Very good!! Thanks for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conneaut, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
I double this for my brood and make a few changes. I use 3 lbs. of diced potates, 2 lbs. of diced carrots and 4 small parsnips also diced after the meat has cooked for an hour and a half. I then let the veggies cook for another hour and a half. I also use a full bottle of beer, 2 cups beef broth, and double the thyme. It's a keeper at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Loved this stew. I made it for dinner with friends & had no leftovers!The only change I made was to use fresh vegetables and potatoes. Definately a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This is the best stew I have ever made, and I have been making stew for 30 years. Bear in mind--it is very rich. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
The whole family as well as the neighbor boys gave this recipe 5 stars. It was very hearty and flavorful. The only changes I made were to omit the beer, added potatoes, used fresh mixed veggies, and cooked in the crock-pot on low for 9 hours. Definitely a keeper and will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Very good, loved the different flavor the beer gives although not too overpowering. I did add extra water, I thought it was a little too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States