Spiced Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
This is more a soup than a stew, but it is still one of the best recipes I have ever tried. I made this a year ago and have been dreaming about it ever since. The only change I made was using fresh carrot and potato instead of frozen veggies. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Santiago De Compostela, Galicia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
terrific! I'm stuffed but could easily go back for thirds. Used the crock pot about 6 to 7 hours which was plenty of time. Used the whole beer (Bud) yet there was no bitter taste I think it gave a bit of a barley flavor. I also used 3 garlic cloves rather than 2. Salt and Pepper on meat before browning and added celery. Thanks for a great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by landsend

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wahoo, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I adapted this recipe to make it even more low carb! I used Splenda instead of brown sugar, less onion, green beans only instead of mixed veggies, & Michelob Ultra. This is a yummy beefy stew with a thin but flavorful gravy! I did add a few grinds of pepper. Thanks, Corwynn!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This recipe wasn't as good as I expected after reading everyones review. I did this recipe in a crock-pot and it came out very bland. it needs more spices or at least some salt. When I had the leftover the next day it wasn't any better. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
Very tasty! I did leave out the beer! When seeing the recipe, I had never heard of brown sugar in a stew before, so I followed everything except for the beer. The brown sugar added a nice flavor. I added extra beef bullion in place of the beer. Along with big, fluffy biscuits, it was an excellent dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Very disappointing. Bland and very beery tasting. Also seemed like something was missing. Didn't like using canned veggies either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This stew was pretty good in the crockpot all day on low. I added a packet of brown gravy mix and used fresh potatoes, onions, and carrots. I also used almost an entire bottle of Coor's (all I had on hand). I was a bit concerned that it might be bitter, but the beer taste wasn't really there at all. 'Course that could have been the choice of beer I used. Next time I will use a dark beer. I like this stew for its brown gravy; next time I might thicken the gravy a bit, but my family loved it all the same! Thank you for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Not sure why this is called "spiced" since it doesn't have many spices, but it is truly delicious. We followed the recipe exactly, but instead of adding mixed vegetables, I added chunks of peeled red potatoes, carrots, and some frozen peas at the end. As well, I seasoned the meat with kosher salt and black pepper before browning. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aCookInLaQuintaCA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
My husband LOVED this, and the kids even seemed to enjoy it. Great for a cold evening! I made it in the crockpot, subbed more broth for the beer, and used frozen veggies instead of canned. I have been looking for a basic, classic stew recipe for a long time. (Still learning the basics of cooking) I am SO happy to have found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
So we changed the recipe a bit - crock potted it instead of the dutch oven. Instead of the mixed veggies from a can we put in potatoes and carrots, if I had corn and celery we would have done that too! The base is just soooooo good and we will definitely do it again! Oh and we spiced it up a bit with some added pepper. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States