Spiced Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Perfect. Next time I'll use less boilon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
The best stew I have ever had. What a great recipe. I think the beer and the brown sugar really adds a nice taste. I did add some potatoes to this. After all, it is stew right? I also used frozen vegetables versus canned veggies. Ive made this 3x so far and have many compliments and requests for the recipe. I sent them your recipe link. Great job Corwynn Darkholme. You did great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
What a keeper! Loved the deep, sweet flavor of the broth. Thanks Corwynn. I simmered mine on the stove top and used fresh vegetables. Remember - when adding the flour to the pot, add some of the beef broth to break up the flour rue. I will make this again and again. Even my 3 1/2 and 9 1/2 ate it, and they are very, very picky eaters. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary  Callan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This was a good traditional beef stew. this reminded me of pot roast with gravy more than anything. This isn't as good as my favorite recipe, but it is still really good. I used a can of beef consomme since I didn't have broth and a can of french onion soup since I didn't feel like cutting up onions and it was sitting there next to the consomme in my pantry. The beer made this smell odd (to me anyway) but I couldn't taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
my boyfriend adored this recipe. I found the stew a little thick so just added another cups beef broth an hour before it was done and it thickened up beautifully while still leaving it thick enough to coat the biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
As usual, Corwynn's recipe was outstanding. You're an All-Recipes superstar, Corwynn - my favorite recipe submitter! (If you haven't tried Corwynn's other recipes, head straight to her list!) Delicious, hearty dish with a complex, savory flavor; must be the combination of the thyme and the beer. To mix it up a little, I added a packet of dry onion soup and used fresh veggies (sweet potato, carrots, and celery). Since I used sweet potatoes, I did not add the brown sugar. And as much as I love butter, I decided to cut back on the saturated fat by browning the meat in a few tablespoons of olive oil instead. These changes made the stew a little healthier but still tasted rich, even decadent. This was a hit with my family, even my picky 6 year old. This is definitely our new family stew recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
It wasn't what we expected, however it wasn't terrible either, I thought it was too sweet and my husband didn't thing it was "hearty" enough. I prefer my stews to be more brothy, I like dipping rolls in the juices, but this had hardly any juice. We used a dark beer which I didn't care for too much. I have to add though that we ate the leftovers for dinner the next night and we added V8 tomato juice to it and it was definately alot better, I was able to dip my leftover rolls in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This stew was so rich and delicious! The grocery store was out of beef broth, so I used a can of french onion soup in its place and omitted the sugar. I also used a dark beer, which added a ton of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
This recipe was great, though i did leave out the beer. I did add my own spices and my own fresh veggies, it was great...this recipe either by mistake or intentionally leaves out salt and pepper, but add your own to your liking. I defintely recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This stew has a wonderful flavor. The only changes I made were to add 2 cubed potatoes, salt, and pepper. I also cooked it on the stovetop, not in the oven. I'm not normally a big stew fan, but I'll make this often! Thanks so much for the recipe... It's the best I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States