Spiced Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This stew was awesome!! I only tweaked the amounts of liquid as I wanted a bit more stew with my meat. I added an extra half cup of beer and probably around an extra cup of beef broth. I threw everything in the crock pot, without browning the meat, then melted the called for butter, mixed in the flour and put that in the crock pot once everything had warmed up. I had to add an extra mixture of butter and flour for a number of reasons: one, I use a gluten free flour mixture, two, I added extra liquid, three, I wanted my stew a little more thick than how it was coming out. I also went without the canned vegetables and added a chopped up sweet potato (probably could have used two), 10-15 baby carrots, and baby peas (added half an hour before I was ready to serve). I thought this was perfectly seasoned as is, but my husband added some salt to his bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Perfect. Next time I'll use less boilon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
The best stew I have ever had. What a great recipe. I think the beer and the brown sugar really adds a nice taste. I did add some potatoes to this. After all, it is stew right? I also used frozen vegetables versus canned veggies. Ive made this 3x so far and have many compliments and requests for the recipe. I sent them your recipe link. Great job Corwynn Darkholme. You did great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
What a keeper! Loved the deep, sweet flavor of the broth. Thanks Corwynn. I simmered mine on the stove top and used fresh vegetables. Remember - when adding the flour to the pot, add some of the beef broth to break up the flour rue. I will make this again and again. Even my 3 1/2 and 9 1/2 ate it, and they are very, very picky eaters. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary  Callan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This was a good traditional beef stew. this reminded me of pot roast with gravy more than anything. This isn't as good as my favorite recipe, but it is still really good. I used a can of beef consomme since I didn't have broth and a can of french onion soup since I didn't feel like cutting up onions and it was sitting there next to the consomme in my pantry. The beer made this smell odd (to me anyway) but I couldn't taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
my boyfriend adored this recipe. I found the stew a little thick so just added another cups beef broth an hour before it was done and it thickened up beautifully while still leaving it thick enough to coat the biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
As usual, Corwynn's recipe was outstanding. You're an All-Recipes superstar, Corwynn - my favorite recipe submitter! (If you haven't tried Corwynn's other recipes, head straight to her list!) Delicious, hearty dish with a complex, savory flavor; must be the combination of the thyme and the beer. To mix it up a little, I added a packet of dry onion soup and used fresh veggies (sweet potato, carrots, and celery). Since I used sweet potatoes, I did not add the brown sugar. And as much as I love butter, I decided to cut back on the saturated fat by browning the meat in a few tablespoons of olive oil instead. These changes made the stew a little healthier but still tasted rich, even decadent. This was a hit with my family, even my picky 6 year old. This is definitely our new family stew recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
It wasn't what we expected, however it wasn't terrible either, I thought it was too sweet and my husband didn't thing it was "hearty" enough. I prefer my stews to be more brothy, I like dipping rolls in the juices, but this had hardly any juice. We used a dark beer which I didn't care for too much. I have to add though that we ate the leftovers for dinner the next night and we added V8 tomato juice to it and it was definately alot better, I was able to dip my leftover rolls in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This stew was so rich and delicious! The grocery store was out of beef broth, so I used a can of french onion soup in its place and omitted the sugar. I also used a dark beer, which added a ton of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
This recipe was great, though i did leave out the beer. I did add my own spices and my own fresh veggies, it was great...this recipe either by mistake or intentionally leaves out salt and pepper, but add your own to your liking. I defintely recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States