Spiced Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
So easy and soooooo tasty. Only added a little cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Rich and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Was great with Guiness. Really easy to make as well. ( for a beginner). Will be keeping this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I'm not a stew person but loved this recipe with the following changes:braised the beef with flour and s &p, deleted the mixed canned veggies and added sweet potato chunks and raw carrots instead. Also added more dried thyme, some rosemary and savory. I put all the raw vegetables in the oven with the rest of the ingredients and foujnd after 1.5 hours, it was perfectly done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I made a gluten free version of this and it was delicious. When I saw that it was a stew, I cringed because I remember stews being bland with tough meat when I was growing up. I ended up doubling the recipe, using chicken broth because I ran out of beef broth, used fresh carrots, celery, and added potatoes for some bulk. It was very filling and the meat was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
OMG! Awesome recipe! I made it today and it does not compare to any beef stew I have ever had. Tastes AWESOME! 5 Stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Excellent flavor! A big hit at my house. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I really like this stew recipe but use it only a guide. I use fresh carrots, potatoes and celery. I try a different beer every time I cook, so far the favorite is Blue Moon. I up the liquids to 3 cans of broth and 1 1/2 to 2 beers. The potatoes and celery soak up the juices. The next day this stew is divine, the flavors really come out. And it thickens up a lot so I add water as needed to thin it out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLAIRDNJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Brandon, Suffolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This was so delicious! and I'm not usually a big beef stew fan. I gave it four stars only because I changed it a little. I put a chopped up sweet potato and diced fresh carrot in right before I put it in the oven. The sweet potatoes were a great compliment to the meat and the slightly sweet sauce. GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
PERFECT! I used fresh cut up veggies and left out the butter, used olive oil instead. It was sooooo yummy. Unfortunately I used the only beer in the house "Fin du Monde" a Quebec micro-brewery I think. The beer by itself is one of the best I've ever tasted and my husband was a little miffed that I used the good one to cook with, hee hee. I'd like to make it again with a cheaper beer and see if there is much of a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States