Spiced Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This was so delicious. The texture of this cake is a winner. The only changes I made: I used 1/2c white sugar, 1/2c brown sugar (due to having 3 VERY ripe/sweet bananas). And instead of the 1 1/4 tsp allspice, I used 1tsp allspice & 1/4tsp cinnamon. I mixed in the bananas, eggs, and sour cream into the wet mixture before adding it all to the dry mixture. Worked great. Was made in my bundt pan and added in chia seeds for a bit of some omega's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsi Thibodeaux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I made this for my husband'a birthday, and it was so good there were no leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
WOW... Just tried this receipe. I used 1/2 cupofoil instead of butter. Trying to be healthy. I made 12 muffins, and a small loaf. Delicous...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I really liked this banana cake recipe. It made a lovely moist cake with a bit of oat chewiness that I found appealing, besides being good for you. I did make a couple of substitutions. The spice I chose to use was Vietnamese cinnamon which is very intense. I also used Greek yogurt in place of the sour cream because that was what I had. The cake turned out perfectly! Thanks for such a good and successful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
The cake was wonderful to use up some very ripe bananas. I used two bananas to make the cup. I frosted the cake with a coffee buttercream frosting that was just perfect. The cake is not overly sweet so it goes well with a rich frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This was a deliciously, banana-y cake. I made a glaze instead of the cream cheese/butter frosting to save some fat content. Otherwise, i followed the recipe. Totally a hit and will use it again when I have an abundance of bananas that need to get used up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Good, not great - of the 17 I've tried so far. 'Didn't try the frosting. It sounds yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Delicious! I did change the spices a little since our family likes cinnamon. I also added a cup of real chocolate chips. The oatmeal was a must for the texture. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I made this and followed the recipe exactly. I baked it in a bundt pan for about 35 minutes, and it came out beautifully. I liked the flavor very much, but not sure I loved the oatmeal in it, as it added a "chew" I wasn't crazy about. I am a big fan of oatmeal in cookies, etc. but it didn't work in this, as far as I was concerned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This was the absolute best best cake I've ever made. Everyday bakers will have EVERY ingredient in If you are using a bundt cake pan you will need to bake cake for 55 minutes (at least).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States